Share this article

print logo

Medicaid redesign team named

ALBANY -- Members of a Medicaid cost-cutting panel were unveiled this afternoon by Gov. Andrew Cuomo, a downstate-dominated group of health care executives, union leaders, lawmakers and business leaders.

The Medicaid Redesign Team has several Western New York members, including Assemblyman Joe Giglio, a Republican from the 149th Assembly district who is an appointee of the GOP Assembly leadership, and Ann Monroe, the president of the Community Health Foundation of Western and Central New York.

"This team is tasked with the challenge of reversing a decades' long crisis of overspending and waste in our Medicaid system," Cuomo said in a statement. "We need to come together to find solutions to bring costs down without compromising care for New Yorkers and that is exactly what this team is going to do."

The group is to present its findings for a "redesign'' of the health insurance program, which costs more than $50 billion annually, by March 1 so they can be incorporated into the 2011 budget.

Besides Giglio and Monroe, the other members of the panel, according to a release by Cuomo's office, are:

• Michael Dowling, president and CEO of North Shore LIJ Health system.

• Dennis Rivera, the former chairmain of SEIU Healthcare and currently the senior adviser to the International President of SEIU.

• Kenneth E. Raske, president of the Greater New York Hospital Association.

• George Gresham, president of 1199 SEIU United Healthcare Workers East.

• Dan Sisto, president of the Healthcare Association of New York State.

• Frank Branchini, president and COO of EmblemHealth.

• Eli Feldman, president and CEO of the Metropolitan Jewish Health System as well as the chairman of the Continuing Care Leadership Coalition.

• Carol Raphael, president and CEO of the Visiting Nurse Service of New York.

• Linda Gibbs, deputy mayor of New York City for Health and Human Services.

• Ed Matthews, CEO of the United Cerebral Palsy of New York City as well as the president of the Interagency Council.

• Dr. Nirav Shah, the newly nominated Commissioner of Health.

• Mike Hogan, the commissioner for the Office of Mental Health.

• James Introne, deputy secretary for Health and the director of Healthcare Redesign.

• Max Chmura, Acting Commissioner of the Office for People with Developmental Disabilities.

• Arlene Gonzalez-Sanchez, the newly nominated Commissioner of the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services.

• Lara Kassel, a coordinator at Medicaid Matters New York.

• Karen A. Ballard, president of the New York State Nurses Association.

• Stephen J. Acquario, executive director of the New York State Association of Counties.

• Dr. Jeffrey A. Sachs, co-chair of the JFK Jr. Institute for Work Education at City University of New York.

• Steve Berger, former chairman for the Commission on Health Care Facilities in the 21st Century and a board member for the Partnership for New York City.

• Dr. William Streck, chair of the New York State Public Health and Health Planning Council.

• Elizabeth Swain, CEO of the Community Health Care Association of New York State.

• Senator Kemp Hannon, former chairman of the Senate Committees on Health and Housing, who was appointed by Senate Majority Leader Dean Skelos.

• Senator Tom Duane, former Chairman of the Senate Committee on Health, who was appointed by Senate Minority Leader John Sampson.

• Assemblyman Richard N. Gottfried, chairman of the Assembly Committee on Health, who was appointed by Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver.

• Assemblyman Joe Giglio of the 149th Assembly District currently sits on the Medicaid Waste, Fraud and Abuse Task Force. Assemblyman Giglio was appointed by the Minority Leader of the Assembly.

-- Tom Precious

There are no comments - be the first to comment