Share this article

Open for business
Find out the latest updates from local businesses as our region reopens.
print logo

NHL honors Miller, Myers ; Sabres goalie wins first Vezina; rookie gets Calder Trophy

Sin City was good to the Buffalo Sabres on Wednesday night. Star goalie Ryan Miller and towering defenseman Tyler Myers took home two of the NHL's top honors during the league's 2010 awards show at the Palms Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas.

Miller won his first Vezina Trophy as the league's top goaltender, while Myers took home the Calder Trophy as best rookie. Miller also won the NHL Foundation Award, given to a player whose commitment, perseverance and teamwork enrich the lives of people in his community. He beat out Dustin Brown of the Los Angeles Kings and Mike Green of the Washington Capitals.

Miller became a national celebrity after his MVP performance with Team USA at the Vancouver Olympics, leading the Americans to a silver medal.

He was the favorite for the Vezina, which is voted on by the league's 30 general managers, after he led the Sabres to the Northeast Division title and finished second in the league in goals-against average (2.22) and save percentage (.929).

Miller's 41 wins set a franchise record.

He appeared on 28 of the 30 ballots, including 23 first-place votes, and collected 126 points. Phoenix Coyotes goaltender Ilya Bryzgalov finished second with 79 points, and four-time Vezina winner Martin Brodeur of New Jersey was third.

It wasn't a clean sweep for Miller, however, as he missed out on the Messier Leadership Award, which went to Sidney Crosby of Pittsburgh.

Myers, 20, became the third Sabre to win Rookie of the Year and the first since Tom Barrasso, who won in 1984. Gilbert Perreault won in 1971. Myers received 94 of 133 first-place votes and 1,178 points. Detroit Red Wings goaltender Jimmy Howard was second (778 points), followed by Colorado Avalanche center Matt Duchene (755).

The 6-foot-8, 222-pound Myers entered the league at 19 but quickly showed he was ready. He led the Sabres in ice time at 23:44 minutes per game and was second on the team in plus/minus with a plus-13. He led all rookies with 37 assists and 137 blocked shots and was one of four rookies to play in all 82 games.

Myers is just the second defenseman to win the Calder Trophy in the last 12 seasons, joining St. Louis' Barret Jackman, who won in 2003.

The night's biggest award, the Hart Trophy for league MVP, went to Henrik Sedin of Vancouver. Duncan Keith of the Stanley Cup-winning Chicago Blackhawks won the Norris Trophy as best defenseman. Phoenix's Dave Tippett won the Jack Adams Award for Coach of the Year.

Tampa Bay's Martin St. Louis ended Detroit's Pavel Datsyuk's four-year run with the Lady Byng Trophy as most gentlemanly player. Datsyuk won his third straight Selke Trophy as top defensive forward.

There are no comments - be the first to comment