Share this article

print logo

Local TV stations win awards for news, sports reporting

Two local TV stations have won national Edward R. Murrow awards from the Radio Television Digital News Association. The awards, named for broadcast pioneer Murrow, have honored excellence in electronic journalism since 1971.

WIVB-TV, Channel 4, won two awards for its coverage of the crash of Flight 3407 in Clarence Center on Feb. 12, 2009, while WGRZ-TV, Channel 2, collected a writing award for a heartwarming sports-related story.

In the small market category, Channel 4 won the Video Continuing Coverage award for its coverage of the crash of Flight 3407. The winning work was broadcast Feb. 12 and 13, and included a later investigative story televised July 14. In the July story, the station used three cameras to document a demonstration by a Calspan test pilot, who re-created cockpit conditions to show how the pilot incorrectly responded to the plane's stall warning.

The station also won the category of Video News Documentary for a piece titled "4 the Families," which aired four days after the crash of Flight 3407 and profiled the victims known at that time.

WGRZ-TV, Channel 2, won in the category of Video Sports Reporting for "Baseball Hero." Reporter Aaron Saykin and photojournalist Bob Mancuso did the story about a father and son from Cheektowaga who had an unlikely encounter with St. Louis Cardinals star Albert Pujols at a game.

In 2009, WGRZ won the first national Murrow award ever given in the Buffalo television market for an in-depth story on the injury and recovery of Buffalo Bills player Kevin Everett.

The awards will be presented at a gala dinner in New York City later in the year.

All winning entries can be seen on the Web site of the organization,, under "awards."


There are no comments - be the first to comment