Share this article

print logo

Two more apply for 14th District seat

Two candidates who have frequently run for office but never won filed applications by Friday's 5 p.m. deadline to seek the appointment to the Niagara County Legislature's vacant 14th District seat.

Christopher M. Srock and David K. Moyer entered the race Friday, joining David E. Godfrey and Kathy L. O'Keefe, who submitted resumes last week.

The four candidates will be interviewed Tuesday in the county Center for Economic Development in Wheatfield, Legislature Chairman William L. Ross said.

Ross said the selection committee, comprising him, Gerald K. Farnham, R-Lockport, and Dennis F. Virtuoso, D-Niagara Falls, will make its choice that night.

After a vote by the full Legislature April 6, the winning candidate will be sworn in. A special election will be held in November for the seat.

The vacancy was created when Gov. David A. Paterson appointed Legislator Kyle R. Andrews, D-Wilson, to replace David S. Broderick as county treasurer.

Srock, 30, of the Village of Wilson, works in customer service and maintenance at Wilson-Tuscarora State Park. He worked in the dietary department at Newfane Rehabilitation and Health Care Center for 10 years until 2007.

He ran unsuccessfully for Newfane town councilman in 1999, county legislator in 2001, state senator in 2006 and Wilson town councilman in 2007.

Srock is a registered Democrat, the third party he's belonged to in the past eight years, according to county election records. He was a Conservative and an Independence Party member before that.

Moyer, 57, is the owner of Wilson Hardware and a past member of the town Zoning Board of Appeals for 15 years. He is a registered Conservative who switched from the GOP last year. He ran unsuccessfully for town councilman last fall and in 1997, 1999 and 2003. Moyer was the Democratic nominee in 1999 and 2003.

Godfrey, 63, a Republican, is president of Wilson Fire Company and a member of the Eastern Niagara Hospital board of directors. O'Keefe, 48, is an Independence Party member who owns Noah's Ark toy store in Lockport.


There are no comments - be the first to comment