Share this article

print logo

High School Extra / News and notes

Eden girls spike own tourney

Hailee Herc earned MVP honors and was joined by Stacey Smith and Heather Feldman on the all-tournament team as the Eden girls volleyball team rolled through its own tournament.

Eden lose a game in the playoffs of the event, which featured several of the state's top programs. The Raiders beat Canandaigua of Section V (Rochester area) in the final, 25-22, 25-20. Pittsford-Sutherland of Section V and Baldwinsville of Section III (Syracuse) were the other semifinalists.

Nicole Texido of St. Mary's was the only other local player to make the all-tournament team.

Eden defeated St. Mary's, 25-14, 25-9, in the quarterfinals. Orchard Park and Lancaster were other Gold Division quarterfinalists.

At the second West Seneca Invitational, all-tournament team selections Katelyn Prue and Lea Sobieraski helped lead Lockport to a 25-18, 25-16 victory over Kenmore West in the championship match. Taylor Lewandowski and Kayley Vazquez were all-tourney picks for Kenmore West.


Hamburg digs Sweet Home tourney

The Sweet Home boys volleyball tournament has been held for 37 years, and Hamburg has been the champion for the last six editions.

The Bulldogs were at their best all day. Hamburg didn't drop a game throughout the event, ensuring good seeding for the playoff round, in which they rolled to the title. The Bulldogs beat host Sweet Home -- which hadn't lost a game until the final -- in the championship match, 25-18, 25-10.

Hamburg setter Adam Dings earned tournament MVP honors by feeding teammates Alex McColgin (15 kills in the final), Eric Moscato (six) and Drake Kramer (four). Joining Dings and Kramer on the all-tournament team were Sweet Home's Trevor Barrett and Steven Maxwell (six kills in final) and Clarence's David Hill.


Fast swims for Clarence, Nardin

Three relay teams and four individual girls made state cut times at Saturday's quadrangular swim meet at Clarence. The host Red Devils won with 700 points followed by Nardin 595.5, Lockport 572.5 and East Aurora 368. The meet showcased some of the top swimmers in Western New York.

Clarence qualified its 200 medley relay and joined Nardin in qualifying in the 200 free relay. Individually, Victoria Jacumski of Clarence qualified in the 200 individual medley and broke the pool record while qualifying in the breaststroke. Alli Gielowski of Nardin made it in the 200 butterfly and Leia Federiconi of Nardin qualified in the breaststroke.


EA sweeps titles at own meet

Senior Bryan Deibel of Albion outkicked a field of 168 runners to win the East Aurora Cross Country Invitational on Saturday. Deibel completed the 3-mile course in 15:22.03 to beat runner-up Lee Swaydis of Frontier, who went 15:28.26. Ryan Perry of Williamsville North was third in 15:31.65.

Brenna Symoniak of Amherst (17:45.42), Marta McLaughlin of East Aurora and Catherine Phillips of East Aurora went 1-2-3 in the girls race, which drew a field of 140.

The EA boys and girls won the team titles. Williamsville North was the boys runner-up and Fredonia was second among the girls.


GI runners win on GI

Nick Masiello and Maritina Tsembelis, both of Grand Island, won the Robert Murray Award for the fastest boys and girls times of the day at the Western New York Officials cross country meet at Beaver Island State Park on Grand Island.

Masiello won the Division II race in 16:38.9 while Tsembelis clocked a 18:57.8.

Team-wise, West Seneca West, Grand Island and Barker won boys races in their respective divisions. Brendan Gregg of West Seneca West won the Division I race in 16:51.8.

Girls division team titles were won by West Seneca West, Grand Island and Liberty-Benson. Mary Janek of West Seneca West and Shannon Murphy of Falconer won their division races.


West Sen. West, Depew are champs

Zach Thomas took a feed from Tyler Mego and drove a shot just inside the post four minutes into the first overtime to give West Seneca West a 3-2 victory over Frontier in the championship game of the Dan Durick Tournament at Tonawanda's Clint Small Stadium.

On the girls side, Sarah Turner was named tournament MVP while Rachael Banasik scored twice to tie the career record for goals at Depew (99) as the Wildcats scored the game's first four goals in beating host Tonawanda, 4-1, in the final.

The Williamsville East girls increased their record to 7-0 with a 2-0 victory in its annual nonleague showdown with Clarence. Katie Griffin and Becky Fedak scored in the first half for East, which is ranked first among Western New York large schools while Clarence is ranked sixth.


On the Web

For more notes, quotes and statistics on Saturday's fall sports action, go to

There are no comments - be the first to comment