Share this article

print logo

Niagara Honor Roll / Achievers and achievements

Ellen Nelson, of Lockport, has been named the History Center's Volunteer of the Year for 2009. Her volunteer efforts included using her organizational skills to index the extensive collection of photographs taken by History Center photographer Ken Boyd. With this index, the photographs will become a valuable research tool for many years to come.

Nelson graduated from high school in Pennsylvania. When her family moved back to Buffalo, she attended Bryant & Stratton Business Institute for her associate's degree. She worked in retail for several years.

Nelson will be honored at the History Center's annual dinner at 6 p.m. Oct. 1 in the Cornell Cooperative Extension Center on Lake Avenue, Lockport.


*The fine weather in the summer of 2008 helped to produce an increase in entries for the 2009 Niagara County Fair Amateur Wine Makers Contest held in August.

Under new leadership of Kurt Guba and Bryan Calandrelli, co-chairmen from Freedom Run Winery, 112 wines were entered by 41 individuals or parties. Judging was carried out at Freedom Run Winery, Lockport, and announcements and awards were made at the Niagara County Fair.

Best in Class of the Native/Hybrid was Sisters Vintage Winery, with a Geisenheim, entered by Theresa Pritchard and her sister Carol Gold, of Niagara Falls. Best in Class among vinifera entries was Debbie Ohayon, of Wheatfield, for her Reisling, and Best in Class for fruit/specialty wines were Ann Schemerhorn and Jim Rudolph, of Ransomville, for their blackberry chocolate.

Craig Schrader, of Wilson, was given the Judges Award for Creativity for his beet wine, and Kathy Cogovan, of Gasport, won the same award for her maple/clove wine.

Winners in the above categories receive fruit for winemaking, or other products from wineries and vineyards in the area.

Receiving gold awards for one or more entries were Jeff Jacobs, Ann Schemerhorn/Jim Rudolph, Debbie Ohayon, Lou Farina and Sisters Vintage Winery.

Receiving silver awards for one or more entries were Gary Coons, Glenn Krisher, Herb Bush, Jeff Jacobs, Lawrence Eggert, David Walter, Mark LoPresti, Michael Fischer, Russel H. Pierce and Thomas Glenn.

Receiving bronze awards for one or more entries were Gary Coons, Greg Cutt, Howard Hart, Herb Bush, Jeff Jacobs, Kathy Cogovan, Lawrence E. Volland, Ann Schemerhorn/Jim Rudolph, Bob Santella, Bobby Parker, Debbie Ohayon, Elaine Rubenstein, Lou Farina, Mark LoPresti, Peggy Lozaw, Ralph C. Camarre, Roland Howell, Russel H. Pierce, Sisters Vintage Winery and Tim Vercheyn.

Judges for the contest were Bryan Calandrelli and Kurt Guba of Freedom Run Winery; Tyler Finley of Schulze Vineyards & Winery, Jonathan Oakes of Leonard Oakes Estate Winery and Amanda Vizcarra of Vizcarra Vineyards at Becker Farms.

Sponsors of the event or other contributors were Freedom Run Winery, Leonard Oakes Estate Winery, Schulze Vineyards & Winery, Niagara Landing Wine Cellars, Vizcarra Vineyards and Niagara Tradition Homebrew Supply.


The Niagara County Community College department of music has announced the selection of Norman F. Alexander as director of the NCCC All-College Band.


There are no comments - be the first to comment