Share this article

print logo

A look at primary results in WNY

Here are the results of Tuesday's primary elections in Western New York counties.

> Cattaraugus County

In Ellicottville, John D. Northrup and Robert L. Sharf were the apparent winners in the Republican primary for Town Board seats. Northrup received 95 votes, Sharf 83 and Dennis M. Abraitis 80.

In the Town of Freedom, Gary P. Chamberlain won the Republican primary for town justice over challenger Joseph M. Pawlowski, 47-35.

In Hinsdale, Jennifer Witzigman appeared to have won the Independence Party primary for town justice against challenger Linda J. Lovell, 4-2, but Lovell won the Conservative Party primary for the seat against Witzigman, 6-3.

Ronald D. Brown won the Republican primary for Hinsdale's superintendent of highways against Gregory T. Church, 84-48.

In Otto, Robert J. Barber easily won the Republican primary for superintendent of highways with 92 votes, compared with 28 for King A. Wulf and 7 for Dale A. Brown.

In Perrysburg, Richard M. Gabel won the Republican primary for one of two Town Board seats with 53 votes, but the winner of the second seat currently shows a tie between Constance M. Johnson and Lynn W. Varney, each with 36 votes.

In the Town of Salamanca, Virginia P. Rider won the Republican primary for town clerk with 11 votes against JoElla M. Emborsky, who received 5.

In the City of Salamanca, Jeffrey L. Pond Sr. won the Democratic and Republican primaries for mayor over Carmen Vecchiarella. Pond won the Democratic line, 508-293, and the Republican line, 245-89.

For Aldermen, in Ward 1, Ronald S. Ball beat Harold R. Kahm for the Democratic line, 78-69.

In Ward 2, Gerri J. Johnson beat Curtis J. Smith for the Democratic line, 108-85.

In Ward 3, Roger W. Bailey beat Susan L. Metzler for the Democratic line, 81-14. Roger W. Bailey beat Corey E. James for the Republican line, 37-16.

In Ward 4, Michael R. Smith beat Casimir M. Myers for the Democratic line, 154-31.

In Ward 5, Edward J. Riley beat Kevin M. Hill for the Democratic line, 80-45.

In the City of Olean, David J. Carucci won the Republican primary for mayor against William J. Aiello, 426-310.

Democratic District Attorney Edward M. Sharkey won the Independence primary with 63 votes over 33 write-in votes for Republican candidate Lori Rieman.

> Chautauqua County

Candidates competed for the Conservative Party line in the race for county executive and six legislative districts.

Gregory J. Edwards won in the county executive's race with 253 votes to Chuck Cornell's 164.

Mark J. Tarbrake won in the 10th District with 14 votes to Pat Tyler's 8.

In the 11th District, William F. Prieto won with 7 votes; Victoria R. James received 2.

Cheryl L. Akin won the line in the 13th District with 7 votes to Paula DeJoy's 4.

In the 17th District, Richard C. Babbage won with 16 votes; Patrick L. Lucariello got 9.

Frederick C. Croscut won the 20th District with 23 votes to Christopher J. Kowal's 4.

And in the 25th District, John P. Gullo II won with 3 votes; Jacqueline L. Penfold-Williams received 1.

Elsewhere in Chautauqua County, Lyle T. Hajdu and Jesse M. Robbins made the cut for the Republican line in the Busti Town Board race, receiving 250 and 233 votes, respectively. David P. Paterniti finished third with 142, and there was one write-in vote.

Anthony J. Dolce won the Democratic primary for an at-large seat on the Dunkirk City Council with 480 votes to James A. Muscato's 164. One write-in vote was recorded.

In the Republican primary for Hanover town justice, Richard J. Saletta won with 156 votes; Thomas F. Buczkowski had 121.

In the Conservative primary for Pomfret town clerk, Roberta A. Valentine received 17 votes; Tricia M. DeJoe got 16.

John H. Walker II won the Republican primary for Sheridan supervisor with 166 votes, while Louis S. Delmonte Sr. received 144. But Delmonte won the Conservative Party line with 23 votes to Walker's 12. There was one write-in vote.

> Genesee County

Thomas H. Felton won the Republican line for Byron town supervisor, garnering 119 votes to Robert A. Crnkovich's 109, according to unofficial results posted by the Genesee County Board of Elections.

In the Democratic primary for Darien Town Board, Michael A. Plitt and Stephen J. Ferry Jr. secured slots on the November ballot with 65 and 51 votes, respectively. Jimmie E. Flaming finished third with 33.

Winning the Republican Party line for Pembroke Town Board was John J. Worth, who received 190 votes. Edward G. Arnold Jr. finished second with 184 votes, and Thomas C. Schneider Jr. was third with 90.

In the Conservative primary for Stafford highway superintendent, Steven B. Boldt finished first with 12 votes, and James D. Pontillo received 8.

> Orleans County

In the Town of Carlton, incumbent Highway Superintendent Fred "Steve" Jones lost the Republican primary race to challenger David H. Krull, 153-169.

In the Town of Kendall, incumbent Town Clerk Amy Richardson easily won the Republican primary against her challenger, Patricia Urquhart, 232-72.

In the Town of Ridgeway, Mark J. Goheen surfaced as the winner in the three-way Republican primary race for superintendent of highways. He received 230 votes against challengers Matthew W. Herman, 165 votes, and Andrew J. Bale, 76 votes.

There are no comments - be the first to comment