Share this article

print logo

Four seek ballot lines in primary

The primary for Collins Town Board may get two candidates onto the November ballot, or may give two others an extra line in November.

John T. DiBlasi and Jennifer J. Hobson are trying to get their names on the ballot in November on the Independence Party line for councilmen. They are running in the Independence primary Tuesday against Mary A. Clark and Janet L. Vogtli, who also have been endorsed by the Republican and Conservative parties.

Clark, 66, is hoping to be re-elected to the post she has held for eight years. She is a retired head account clerk for Western New York Developmental Disabilities Services Office. She said the Town Board has reduced the debt for the new library in half, purchased land and completed two phases for the new town park and is in the process of renovating the Town Hall.

"This is the most progress this small town has seen in many, many years, and I am proud to be part of it," she said.

Vogtli, 56, served on the Erie Community College board of trustees for 11 years and is a member of the community advisory board for Collins and Gowanda state correctional facilities. Vogtli said she would use her diverse background in business and government to improve services. She would reorganize the highway, parks and water departments into one department of public works. She also said she would work closer with surrounding municipalities to consolidate services to save taxpayers money.

She said she is very active in the community and is a proven problem solver with an in-depth working knowledge of government.

DiBlasi and Hobson did not respond to a request for information from The Buffalo News.

Democratic incumbent Highway Superintendent Francis J. Gernatt Jr., who has served since 1992, and Republican challenger Dennis M. Jensen are running in the Independence Party primary. Both will appear on other lines in November.


There are no comments - be the first to comment