Share this article

print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

Two town supervisors and the director of the Niagara County Refuse Disposal District were honored as "unsung heroes" by the Niagara County Republican Party during its recent Lincoln Day dinner.

Steven C. Richards, of the Town of Niagara, and Timothy R. Horanburg, of Newfane, were the supervisors presented the awards, along with Richard P. Pope of the Refuse District.

About 200 Republicans attended the dinner in Antonio's Banquet and Conference Center in Niagara Falls.


Six Buffalo attorneys have been named "Lawyers of the Year" by the Best Lawyers publication. Best Lawyers said the rankings are based on exhaustive peer-review surveys, and they are published in an annual guide to the nation's leading attorneys.

Those receiving the award for 2009 are: Terrence M. Connors, personal injury litigation; Robert B. Fleming Jr., corporate law; Harry G. Meyer, real estate law; Patrick C. O'Reilly, family law; Raymond H. Seitz, banking law; and Paul B. Zuydhoek, commercial litigation.

A total of 499 lawyers received the designation in 47 cities.


Former Buffalo Bills quarterback Jim Kelly was presented a Lifetime Achievement Award by Family Voices, a national advocacy group for families caring for special-needs children.

The National Football League Hall of Fame member was honored for his work in raising awareness of and promoting universal newborn screening through the Hunter's Hope Foundation.

Hunter's Hope was established in 1997 by Kelly and his wife, Jill, after their infant son, Hunter, was diagnosed with Krabbe Leukodystrophy, an inherited fatal nervous system disease.


Four new members have been appointed to the WNED board of trustees and will each serve two-year terms.

Dr. Owen Moy, a surgeon and clinical professor of orthopedic hand, head and shoulder surgery at Millard Fillmore Hospital, will be joining the board, as will Carlton Brock Jr., area vice president of St. Jude Medical.

The other two new members are Mark DePalma, chief marketing officer and vice president of BlueCross BlueShield of Western New York, and Daniel Boscarino, senior vice president of Human Resources at M & T Bank.


Peter Herr, head of the fine and performing arts department at St. Mary's Catholic High School, Lancaster, has been named Teacher of the Year by the Sam's Club store in Cheektowaga.

Herr will receive a $1,000 grant for St. Mary's High School and a $100 gift card to buy supplies for his classroom. He will also receive a personalized certificate from Sam's Club.

Each Sam's Club, Neighborhood Market and Wal-Mart Distribution Center selects a teacher to honor as its Teacher of the Year. The teachers are nominated by members of their community, and the selection is done by a committee of facility associates from Sam's Club, Neighborhood Market and Wal-Mart.

More than 4,000 teachers are being honored nationwide through this program.


Buffalo City Judge Robert T. Russell Jr. on Tuesdaywas presented the Veterans Advocate of the Year Award by Erie County Veterans Services Director Patrick Welch.

Russell established the first Veterans Diversion Court in the United States, which has served as a model for other jurisdictions across the nation.


Buffalo Mayor Byron W. Brown and University at Buffalo Law School Dean Makau W. Mutua on Feb. 20 recognized several local African-American men and women and organizations for the positive effects they have had on Buffalo.

The award recipients were honored as "change makers." Barbara Glover and Daryl Rasuli both received the Arts Award. Jeremiah Partnership and Mandela Markets received the Business Award. The Community Activist Award went to Back to Basics and Stop the Violence Coalition.

The Education Award was presented to Barbara Seals-Nevergold, Peggy Brooks-Bertram and Ronald S. Rochon. The Health Award was given to LaVonne Ansari and Jonathan D. Daniels. The Law Enforcement Award went to Venita Evans and Cedric Holloway; and the Media Award was presented to Doug Ruffin Jr.

Brown also presented Lifetime Achievement awards to George K. Arthur, Arthur O. Eve, Agnes M. Bain and John E. Smith for their many years of promoting equality.


Seven local women will be honored March 12 during the 13th annual Western New York Women's Hall of Fame Induction Luncheon in the Hyatt Regency Buffalo.

The honorees include Catherine Collins, a nurse, educator, author and Buffalo School Board member who works to improve both the status and health of women, as well as to preserve African-American history; Donna M. Fernandes, the first woman director of the Buffalo Zoo, who is credited with the transition of the zoo from a 19th century facility into an innovative, 21st century zoological park: and Beverly Foit-Albert, an architect and businesswoman dedicated to preserving Buffalo's history and its architectural heritage.

Also being honored are Celeste M. Lawson, executive director of the Arts Council of Buffalo and Erie County and a 30-year ambassador for the arts and cultural communities; Nancy McGlen, dean of the Colloege of Arts and Sciences at Niagara University and the founder of the Niagara County Commission on the Status of Women; Marylouise Nanna, conductor of the Arts Nova Musicians, who serves as first violin for the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra; and Evelyn Pizarro, the first Hispanic woman principal in the Buffalo Public Schools and a staunch advocate for access to education over her 30 years as an educator.


Several awards were presented at the 57th annual Buffalo Catholic Diocesan Youth Convention Feb. 16 in Adam's Mark Hotel.

The convention was attended by more than 750 local Catholic youth and their adult chaperones and concluded with a Mass by Bishop Edward U. Kmiec.

The Monsignor Nelson H. Baker Award, given to a priest who has been an advocate for youth in the church, was presented to the Rev. Roy T. Herberger, pastor of SS. Columba-Brigid Catholic Church.

Hannah Wentz of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton in Dunkirk parish was honored with the Outstanding Catholic Youth award for her service and commitment.

The Manus Christi Award, given to teenagers who possess outstanding moral character, was presented to 17 high school seniors from the following parishes: Andrew Adolf of Sacred Heart in Bowmansville; Kimberly Bopp of St. Mary's in Swormville; Courtney Cardinal of Our Lady of the Blessed Sacrament in Depew; Joe Fagan, Daniel Hartley and Heather Walker of Holy Trinity in Medina; Chelsea Hyla of Our Lady of Pompeii in Lancaster; Olivia Jarosz of Nativity of Our Lord, Orchard Park; Jessica Monroe of St. Brigid in Bergen; Michael Powell and Annie Skrobacz of St. Mary of the Angels in Olean; Michael Slattery of St. John the Baptist in Lockport; Kate Spadaccia of Our Lady of Mercy in Le Roy; Lindsey Torres of St. James of Jamestown; Katarina VanLinder of Resurrection in Batavia; Ricardo Ventura of Holy Cross in Buffalo; and Hannah Wentz of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton in Dunkirk.

The For God and Youth Award, offered by both the National Federation for Catholic Youth Ministry and the Youth Department of the Diocese of Buffalo, was given to four adults who made significant contributions to the parish youth ministry.

They are Patricia Chlebowski of SS. Peter & Paul in Dunkirk; Joan Ersing of St. Martin de Porres in Buffalo; Laurie Marshanke of St. Vincent de Paul of Niagara Falls; and Leonard Rizzo of St. Lawrence in Buffalo.

Seven parishes received the Ed Argy Award for Community Service, which recognizes those parishes that demonstrate that community service is an important part of their youth ministry program. They are St. Andrew, Town of Tonawanda; St. Elizabeth Ann Seton, Dunkirk; SS. Hyacinth & Hedwig, Dunkirk; St. Joseph, Fredonia; St. Katharine Drexel, Buffalo; Our Lady of the Blessed Sacrament, Depew; and Sacred Heart of Jesus, Bowmansville.


There are no comments - be the first to comment