Share this article

print logo

Only three Seneca races are contested

Unlike past Seneca Nation elections, there are only three races in which candidates are competing against each other in Tuesday's tribal balloting.

The contested races are for the offices of president, plus a position called poormaster and a Tribal Council seat, both at the Allegany Reservation. The rest of the candidates are unopposed.

Barry E. Snyder Sr., the endorsed Seneca Party candidate, is seeking a fourth two-year term as president. Dan L. Williams Sr. is running as an Independent for the top office.

Running for poormaster in Allegany are Rae Lynn George, Seneca Party, and Vivian L. Moore, Independent. The poormaster oversees emergency services for enrolled Senecas living on tribal lands.

Also at Allegany, there are five candidates running for four seats on the Tribal Council. They are Arlene Bova, Tracie Brown, Donald N. John, Michael L. John, all Seneca Party, and Rory Crouse, Independent.

Here's a list of the other unopposed candidates:

Treasurer, Jacqueline L. Bowen, Seneca Party; clerk, Lenith Waterman, Seneca Party; Cattaraugus, Tribal Council, Todd Gates, Brad John, Llona LeRoy, J. Conrad Seneca, all Seneca Party.

For chief marshals, Allegany, Brandon S. Redeye, Seneca Party; Cattaraugus, Keith White, Seneca Party; marshals, Allegany, Joe John, C.J. Pierce, and Martin John, Seneca Party; Cattaraugus, Darby LeRoy, Michael Redeye, Houston Williams, Seneca Party.

Assessors, Allegany, Carolyn Brant, John Redeye, Lani George, Seneca Party; Cattaraugus, Joni Jackson, Kevin Printup, James "JJ" White, Seneca Party; highway commissioners, Allegany, Gary Sanden, Seneca Party; Cattaraugus, Patricia Patterson, Seneca Party; and Cattaraugus, poormaster, Debra Jimerson, Seneca Party.


There are no comments - be the first to comment