Share this article

print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

Five Buffalo State College alumni have won the Young Alumnus Achievement Award:

Cesar A. Cabrera, of the classes of 1990 and 2006, is a member of the college's Alumni Association board of directors and assists local organizations in promoting social issues such as stable families, AIDS assistance and mentoring. In addition, Cabrera serves on the board of Citizen Action of New York and the statewide board of directors for the Public Policy and Education Fund of New York.

Gerald L. Cornish, of the class of '90, serves on the boards of the College Foundation and the Summit Educational Resources Foundation. He has been involved with the Buffalo Hearing and Speech Center, the Western New York Muscular Dystrophy Association and the Eastern Hills Rotary Club.

Kelly Frothingham, of the classes of '94 and '97, was one of the first members of the McNair Scholars Program and continues to play an active role in the organization as a mentor to students. She also has been involved in the Cayuga Creek Restoration Steering Committee and the Scajaquada Creek Watershed Advisory Council.

Christopher R. Gallant, of the class of '92, recently received an Emmy Award for a report on the wrongful conviction of Anthony Capozzi. An active participant in Buffalo State activities, Gallant regularly takes part in the Bengal 5K Run and Fun Walk, has volunteered for the Newman Center and has served as a mentor for students in the communication department. He also is a volunteer board member for Squeaky Wheel, Buffalo's independent media arts center.

David A. Kopasz, class of '92 and '93, is a member of the college's Alumni Association board of directors and is a supporter of the hospitality and tourism department. He also donates refreshments and food for the Alumni Association's annual wine-tasting event.


Sadoo Enterprises will honor the following people with its Distinguished Citizens Awards:

Muriel A. Howard, president of Buffalo State College; Dr. John C. Hellriegel, obstetrician-gynecologist; Brenda W. McDuffi, president and CEO of the Buffalo Urban League; Pastor Roderick L. Hennings, founder of Zion Dominion Global Ministries; Makau Matua, dean of the University at Buffalo Law School; and Dr. Glen R. Smith, primary care physician-endocrinologist and assistant professor in UB's School of Medicine.

Ronald S. Rochon, dean of the School of Education and associate vice president for teacher education at Buffalo State, will be guest speaker at the awards benefit at 2 p.m. Oct. 19 in Hearthstone Manor, Depew.

Sadoo Enterprises was founded in 2004 to raise funds to build primary schools in Ghana, West Africa, and Kliptown, South Africa.

Its first phase of building schools will occur in January in Wasuta, a village in Ghana.

Kevin Donovan is Sadoo's president, and Shirley L. Courton, a retired administrator from the Buffalo Public Schools, is its founder and CEO.


Dr. Datta G. Wagle has been elected president of the American Urological Association. It's the first time in the association's 110 year history that a Western New York physician has been named president. Wagle is a senior partner at Main Urology Associates and chief of Urology at St. Joseph and Sisters hospitals.


Colin Y. Pack, a private in the U.S. Army's 4th Infantry Division, had his photo added to the Wall of Honor in the City of Lockport Common Council Chambers. Pack is the 56th active duty member of the armed forces to have a photo posted on the Wall of Honor. Pack, who had been on leave, was scheduled to return to the Iraq war zone earlier this month.


There are no comments - be the first to comment