Share this article

print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

The American Legion Band of the Tonawandas, Post 264, once again took top honors in the Senior Band category at the recent state convention parade during the annual American Legion Department of New York meeting in Niagara Falls. The band has competed in the Senior Band state championship almost continuously for the past 60 years. Second in the category was the Niagara Frontier Band.


William R. Basile of Williamsville, vice president of actuarial services and underwriting for Independent Health, recently was elected to the board of directors of the Erie Community College Foundation. He will serve a three-year term.


Jamestown Community College recognized several people for their service to the college during a recent staff luncheon.

Bridget Johnson, community relations coordinator, was given the President's Award for Excellence. She also received the State University of New York Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Professional Service.

Recognized for length of service to the college were James Mattoon and David Thomas, 30 years; Marianne Connell, Shelley Grice and Kevin Singer, 25 years; Sharon Bowers, Nancy Callahan, Irene Dobies, Kathryn Fox, Dale Frye, Cynthia McDonough, Gregory Rabb, Jean Schrader, Laurie Vorp, Amy White and Bernard Wilson, 20 years; Judy Atkins and Claire Card, 15 years.


Buffalo State College chemistry professor Zeki Y. Al-Saigh was among 30 State University of New York professors honored recently by the SUNY Research Foundation at the annual recognition dinner honoring research and scholarship in Albany.

Al-Saigh, a Buffalo State faculty member since 2002, is an internationally recognized expert in a technique called Inverse Gas Chromatography. He has published more than 50 papers on his research.


Frederick B. Cohen of Buffalo, vice president and general counsel for Independent Health, has been appointed to the 13-member New York State Health Care Quality and Cost Containment Commission, created to improve access to quality, affordable health care.


Gregory T. DeCinque, president of Jamestown Community College, has been appointed to the recently established State University of New York Advisory Council, which includes representatives of administration, faculty, staff and students from throughout the SUNY system.

The council will facilitate the exchange of ideas between SUNY and the State Commission on Higher Education.


Catharine M. Weiss has been elected president of the board of directors of the Amherst Senior Citizens Foundation. Steven D. Szubinski was chosen as vice president. Secretary is Ruth Barone, and Keith R. Bookbinder is treasurer.

Outgoing president David J. Dengler was elected to a second three-year term on the board, as were Weiss, Bookbinder and Sheila C. Gilbert. Elected to their first terms were Edward F. McKee and David Pollack. Laurie Wachowiak was returned to the board after a one-year absence.


Marilyn A. Zagora has been named vice president and dean of academic affairs at Jamestown Community College. Zagora, who began her career at JCC in 1974, most recently was dean of student development and marketing. She previously was dean of student affairs..


Ten students from Erie and Niagara counties recently received scholarships from the Grand Lodge and Trustees of the Free & Accepted Masons of the State of New York.

They are Andrew Luckman of Lockport, Kristen Schweitzer-Haug of Williamsville, Nicole Smith of Tonawanda, Nicole Henderson of North Tonawanda, Abram Morgan of Grand Island, Jennifer Bundt of Wheatfield, Sean O'Neill of Tonawanda, Amy Flammger of Tonawanda, Mark Jacobik of Hamburg and Melissa Palmer of Cheektowaga.


There are no comments - be the first to comment