Share this article

print logo

Niagara Honor Roll / Achievers and achievements

*More than 90 Niagara University employees took part June 14 in the school's fourth annual Day of Service, helping local agencies and groups in a variety of ways. The volunteers included Mike Skowronski, employer relations coordinator in the Office of Career development; Beverly Junevic, accountant in the NU controller's office; and Howard Morgan, director of advancement services in the Office of Institutional Advancement.

*More than 200 golfers took to the links June 5 at Niagara Falls Country Club for the 16th annual Niagara Cup Classic golf tournament. The tournament netted $75,000, which will fund programming and educational equipment for Bridges, the medical center's behavioral health unit for children and adolescents.

The Washington Mills Electro Minerals Corp. team of Peter VanderValk, Sandro Borghesi, Ron Campbell and Don McLeod won the tournament, with a best two balls net score of 124.

Women's champions were Dr. Rama Bojedla, Deb Kantor, Mary Spacone and Bev Taibi. Dave Sharp carded a 75 to capture first-place net honors.

Tournament chairmen were Dr. Michael Beecher of Niagara Family Medicine and Deb Kantor, president of Healthcare Intervention Specialists. Honorary chairmen were Achla and Dr. Naresh Jain and Drs. Lyn and John Dyster, all of Lewiston. Celebrating its 16th anniversary, the Niagara Cup Classic has raised nearly $800,000 for programs and equipment at Memorial.

*Six nursing students at Niagara County Community College were recognized for outstanding academics during the 2006-07 academic year.

Tammy O'Grady, of Lockport, received the Elena T. Perone Award, given annually to a graduating student who best personifies the excellence demonstrated by NCCC's nursing program founder.

Debra Lowman, of Niagara Falls, received the U.S. Army Spirit of Nursing Award and the NCCC Faculty Award for Clinical Excellence. She and O'Grady were selected as the student speakers at the college's Nurses Pinning Ceremony held last month.

Other honorees were Suzanne Korman, of Youngstown, and Kate Maerten, of Lockport, both recipients of the District I New York State Nurses Association Award; Ha Tran, of Niagara Falls, the Forty & 8 Scholarship; and Donna Montesanti, of Medina, the Lippincott Book Award.

*Mark Ott, of North Tonawanda, and Daniel Kasprzak, of Tonawanda, recently were recognized for their outstanding academic achievement in Niagara County Community College's Radiologic Technology program.

Ott was the recipient of the Dr. Glenn Jones Scholarship and Kasprzak received the James Mussell/Kevin Tagg Scholarship.

There are no comments - be the first to comment