Share this article

print logo

Niagara Honor Roll / Achievers and achievements

* The Niagara Tourism and Convention Corp. has announced that Bill Hilts Jr. of Sanborn, who serves as the organization's outdoors specialist, has been selected as a 2007 inductee into the New York State Outdoorsmen's Hall of Fame. The induction will take place in Utica on April 28.

Hilts was among a select group of 11 individuals to receive this honor, which recognizes individuals who have worked to preserve, conserve and promote New York's natural heritage. He is a nationally recognized outdoors writer and photographer. He also is an acknowledged fishing and hunting expert and serves as president of the Lake Ontario Sportfishing Promotion Council. He is past president of the New York State Outdoor Writers Association and currently serves on the board of directors for the Association of Great Lakes Outdoor Writers, both of which will be convening for a fall conference in Niagara County in September.

At the NTCC, Hilts has been instrumental in helping the organization promote its vast array of outdoor tourism products.

* Employees of Niagara County's Credit Union have dropped off donation barrels at both the Lockport and Niagara Falls branches with the hopes of collecting enough nonperishable food for Community Missions in the Falls to at least give the fight against hunger in our community a good start.

The president and chief executive officer of the credit union, Nancy Kasprzak- Whitmore, has offered to match any of the food donations made by the NCCU employees. This is not the first time she and the NCCU staff have pitched in to serve the community. For several years, they have been selling candy bars to benefit Care for Kids. In addition, Care for Kids will be receiving the proceeds from a sale of plush toy cows on sale now at both branches.

* The Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center board of directors has elected Don J. King chairman and James C. Roscetti vice chairman for 2007.

King, a medical center trustee since 1985, is chairman of the Polly King Art Gallery. Roscetti is an attorney with Roscetti & DeCastro, a Niagara Falls law firm. The tandem has led the medical center's governing board since it was reorganized in January 2003.

The board also re-elected Cynthia Bianco, deputy superintendent of schools for the Niagara Falls Board of Education, to serve as secretary and Charles G. Rader, chief executive officer of IsleChem, as treasurer.

Elected to the board for three-year terms were King, Robert L. Bradley Jr., central office administrator for the Niagara Falls City School District; Ronald R. Campbell, chief operating officer for Washington Mills Electro Minerals Corp.; and Stephanie Williams Cowart, executive director of the Niagara Falls Housing Authority.

Continuing on the 14-member board will be: Betty Babanoury, executive director of Niagara Falls Public Library; Trudy Jackson, a Seneca Nation of Indians tribal councilor and member of the Seneca Nation of Indians Health Department board of directors; Margaret M. Toohey, president of Lewiston Insurance Agency; Dr. Jerome Andres, president of the medical staff at Memorial; Dr. Naresh Jain, a member of the hospital's medical staff; Dr. Mark D. Perry, Memorial's chief of radiology; and Joseph A. Ruffolo, the medical center's president and chief executive officer.

* Starpoint High School, which has about 950 students, recently was one of 15 area high schools to participate in Upstate New York Transplant Services' "Life Lessons," a pioneering program to educate students on the importance of organ and tissue donation, in addition to teaching them how to launch effective public relations campaigns within their own schools.

This fundraiser was coordinated by the Starpoint Leadership Team -- the group of students responsible for coordinating Life Lessons within Starpoint High School.

Headquartered in Buffalo and established in 1981, Upstate New York Transplant Services is among the leading organ procurement organizations in the United States and is one of the only centers nationwide to house laboratory services and organ, tissue and eye procurement in one location.

* Air Force Airmen Waylon T. Krueger and Malcolm I. MacDougall have graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base, San Antonio.

During the six weeks of training, they studied the Air Force mission, organization, and military customs and courtesies; performed drill and ceremony marches and received physical training, rifle marksmanship, field training exercises and special training in human relations.

In addition, airmen who complete basic training earn credits toward an associate degree through the Community College of the Air Force.

Krueger, a 2006 graduate of Wilson High School, is the son of Bonnie and Graydon Krueger of Ransomville.

MacDougall, a 2006 graduate of Niagara Falls High School, is the son of Charles and Jill MacDougall of Niagara Falls.

There are no comments - be the first to comment