Share this article

print logo

Coaches cited for winning award

The varsity football and girls soccer coaches were honored by the Iroquois School Board on Monday for winning the Sportsmanship Award from the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Section VI for the fall sports season.

Athletes Christin Handley and Mike Perillo were chosen by their coaches to win team sportsmanship awards.

Athletic Director Ross Esslinger read the Section VI award, noting it was "the most prestigious award a school can receive as it speaks volumes of the time and effort these athletes and coaches have put in."

Football coaches recognized by the board were Scott Rollo, Darren Ziegler, Paul DiGiacomo, Keith Marshall, Dave Mazur and head coach Frank Payne.The coaches honored for the winning season in girls soccer were Andy Jacobs, Renee Reinhart, Rick Weber and Chris Nowak.

Intermediate School Principal Donna Eno made a presentation to the board spotlighting a new program used at Iroquois for fourth and fifth graders, developed by Education Researcher Harvey Silver. The program helps teachers discover their dominant teaching style (such as visual, logical, spatial, math oriented or linguistic) and how this affects their classroom teaching style.

Pupils similarly have learning styles and the program helps the teachers to tailor their instruction to meet pupils' needs and not just teach in their "comfort zone."

Superintendent Neil Rochelle said pupils achieve more if they use all these learning skills not just their dominant one. Eno said teachers will learn different activities to foster development of different skills.

Rochelle said Silver will be invited to the school soon to train all the teachers in this method from K-12. He added that many top school districts will use this method and some will have joint training sessions.

There are no comments - be the first to comment