Share this article

print logo


Counties will use grants for trail-related projects

Cattaraugus, Chautauqua and Erie counties will benefit from a share of $2.3 million in grants for trail-related projects around the state, Gov. George E. Pataki's office announced Friday.

The projects are part of the federal Recreational Trails Program, which includes 20,000 miles of trails in New York.

In Cattaraugus County, the Portville Snowmobile Club will receive $79,266 to buy grooming equipment to maintain 37 miles of snowmobile trails connecting Allegany State Park and the Allegany National Forest.

Chautauqua Rails to Trails will receive $37,600 for similar equipment for trails it and the Chautauqua Lake Snowmobile Club maintains. In Erie County, the Town of Orchard Park will receive $100,000 to construct and rehabilitate 6,775 linear feet of pathway -- including 400 linear feet of wooden boardwalk -- in Chestnut Ridge Village Park.


Peace Bridge officers walk off job for 3 hours

FORT ERIE. Ont. -- Canadian border officers at the Peace Bridge walked off the job for three hours Saturday, based on what they perceived as a danger involving a problem with the agency's computers.

Jean D'Amelio Swyer, spokesman for Canadian Border Services, said the action began about 11:30 a.m. She said she didn't know what the concern was, just that it involved the computer systems. She said the walkout ended at 2:30 p.m.

Swyer said the problem was investigated and, "The official determination was there was no danger and the officers returned to duty."

The bridge remained open during the three hours, with managers taking over the duties.


DEC grant will fund hazardous waste pickup

The state Department of Environmental Conservation announced four grants to Western New York municipalities or solid waste authorities Friday to fund household hazardous waste collection days.

Erie County received $70,000, and the Northeast Southtowns Solid Waste Management Board, which covers many suburban and rural towns and villages in Erie County, was allocated $57,500. In Niagara County, a $15,000 grant was awarded to the Town of Wheatfield. The GLOW solid waste consortium of Genesee, Livingston, Orleans and Wyoming counties was allocated $45,000.


New Year's Day closings

This is how the following area offices and services will be affected Monday by the New Year's Day holiday.

City Court .... Closed County courts .... Closed
State courts .... Closed
Federal courts .... Closed
City offices .... Closed
County offices .... Closed
State offices .... Closed
Federal offices .... Closed
Post Office .... Closed
Schools .... Closed
Banks .... Closed
Most stores .... Closed
Metro Bus, Rail .... Sunday service
City garbage .... Delayed one day

There are no comments - be the first to comment