Share this article

print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

Gretchen Fierle, vice president of community relations and communications for Independent Health, will begin her two-year term as president of Leadership Buffalo's board of directors Monday.

Other officers: secretary, Stephanie Barber; treasurer, Robert Tocker; assistant treasurer, Allen "Pete" Grum; and vice presidents, Jennifer Parker, John Schmidt and Kathy Snyder Egan.

Serving one-year at-large terms on the board are Archie Amos, Aimee Gomlak Brace, Don Erb, Chris Jacobs and Michael Keating, Charles Maclay, Ann Monroe, Zachary Schneider, David Smith, Thomas Van Nortwick and Deborah DiMatteo.

Leadership Buffalo was founded in 1988 to unite existing and emerging leaders from diverse backgrounds and perspectives in order to increase their understanding of critical community issues and enhance their ability to lead. It will graduate its 20th class in 2007. Mary Jo Hunt is its executive director.


The Canisius College Board of Regents recently appointed eight new members. They include:

Eric L. Brady, Class of '76, a sports reporter for USA Today.

Jeffrey J. Calabrese, '92, partner at Harter Secrest & Emery.

Kathleen Doucet-Miller, '95, president of the Doucet-Miller Insurance Agency.

David Nasca, '79, president of Evans Bancorp and first vice president of the Canisius College Alumni Association.

Peter S. O'Keefe, '78, president of O'Keefe Shaw & Co.

William C. Moore,'68, president of Buffalo Financial Associate.

Molly J. Musarra,'82, of the Erie County District Attorney's Office.

Lee C. Wortham,'79, executive vice president of wealth management at First Niagara Bank.

Officers include the chairman, Patrick M. Gallivan, Class of '82, and vice chairwoman, Acea M. Mosey-Pawlowski, '92.

The board serves as an advisory group to the Rev. Vincent M. Cooke, president of the college, and the Canisius Collage board of trustees.


New trustees of the local chapter of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society have been announced by the chapter president, Joseph Marris of Phillips Lytle.

They are Michael Bonetto of Hamburg, Lois Cropp, RN, of Amherst, Robert DiLoreto of East Amherst and Linda Taylor of Clarence.


Edward J. Schieffelin is president of the Kiwanis Club of Lewiston and Ronald Parent president-elect for 2007.

Other officers include William Bennion, vice president; Randy Gorzka, secretary; Edward Evert, treasurer; and John Walmsley, immediate past president.

The Kiwanis board of directors includes Dean Beltrano, Paul Beatty Jr., Howard "Bud" Griffith, John Frandina, Michael Roemer, Tom Jones, Charles Stojak and Tom Minarcin. Stojak is taking over as chairman of the 2007 Niagara County Peach Festival, succeeding the 2006 chairman, Bill Bennion. The Niagara County Peach Festival will run from Sept. 7 to 9.


James Arcoraci of Fredonia, a senior financial adviser for American Financial Services, has been appointed to the board of directors of the Jamestown Community College Foundation, a private, nonprofit organization formed in 1983 to manage contributions made on behalf of JCC and to allocate funds to programs or events not included in the college's operating expense budget.

Arcoraci has degrees from JCC and Fredonia State College. He is a former officer of the Fredonia Volunteer Fire Department.


Michael Boehm has been elected chief of the Eggertsville Hose Company in Amherst for 2007.

Other firematic officers include the first assistant chief, John Buttino; second assistant chief, Brian Multerer; fire captains, Michael Flynn, Kiel Gentry and Jeffrey Gilson; fire lieutenants, James Day, Jeffrey Yap and Paul McDonald, and captain of emergency medical services, Brian Waykoff.

Administrative officers include the new president, Peter Christopher; vice president, William Bulleigh; recording secretary, George Zammit; treasurer, Robert Brand; financial secretary, Wayne Smith; corresponding secretary, Richard Cumpston; and sergeant-at-arms, James McDonald. Patrick Galvin and James Christopher were elected to the board.


Jack McCarthy has been elected president of the Hy-View Exempt Organization of Fire District No. 8 in Depew.

Other officers for 2007 include the vice president, Ken Hauser; treasurer, Mike Behun; secretary, Rick Kotecki; and sergeant-at-arms, Bob Schmitt. Ed Lyons is the chaplain for 2007.

There are no comments - be the first to comment