Share this article

print logo

Honor Roll / Recognizing the accomplishments of Western New Yorkers

Brian D. Rusk of Amherst has been elected to his 19th one-year term as president of the General Pulaski Association.

Rusk is a 25-year member and past president of the Amherst South Rotary Club and a board member of the Hope for Tomorrow Foundation. He also has been host of "The Rusk Report" on WKBW Radio for 27 years. He is a member of numerous ethnic, civic and political organizations.

Other officers of the General Pulaski Association, which holds the largest Pulaski Day Parade in upstate New York every July in Cheektowaga, include: first vice president, Alexandra Schmid; second vice president, Kenneth Graber; treasurer, Edward J. Reska Jr.; secretary, Julita Kotlarz; and chaplain, Monsignor Matthew Kopacz.

Honorary directors are U.S. District Judge William Skretny, Dr. Jack Kotlarz and Ray Dusza,former Erie County legislator.


Edward Stephens of Williamsville recently was elected grand high priest of Most Excellent Prince Hall, Grand Holy Royal Arch Masons of New York State, Canada and the Caribbean.

He was elected at the organization's 134th annual convention in New York City. He is the first grand high priest elected from upstate New York in its history.

Stephens is a life member of Paramount Lodge 73, Free & Accepted Masons, where he served a two-year term as worshipful master. He is a member and former most wise and perfect master and illustrious commander-in-chief of Bison Consistory No. 29.


Charles T. Esposito of Buffalo has been elected grand commander of Cordova Caravan 26, Order of the Alhambra, a fraternal organization of Catholic men dedicated to assisting developmentally disabled people.

Other officers for 2006-2007 include vice grand commander, Donald W. Hoch; grand scribe, Donald H. Webster; scribe of the exchequer, Gerald J. Genson; master of the oasis, Carl Lombardo; and historiographer, Victor E. Turchiarelli.

Also, master of the bodyguard, Frank P. Vitello; sentinel of the tower, Lawrence W. Lampman; sentinel of the desert, Ronald J. Gaglione, and grand advocate, Samuel J. Yannello.

Esposito appointed the Rev. Joseph Bertha to be spiritual adviser, Robert C. Robinson to be cordovan editor and Louis R. Malkiewicz and Matthew J. Robinson to be caravan greeters.


Dr. Margaret W. Paroski, executive vice president and chief medical officer of Kaleida Health, has been elected chairwoman of Upstate New York Transplant Services.

Other officers include the vice chairman, Dr. James J. Reidy, ophthalmologist at ECMC; treasurer, E. Paul Hettich, chief financial officer, BryLin Hospitals; and secretary, Eileen Nahigian, chief nursing officer for Kaleida Health.

Named to their first terms on the board beginning in 2007 were Joseph Kabacinski, Walter Ludwig, Dr. Brian McGrath, Dr. Michael Anthony Pell, Dr. Francisco Velazquez and Anthony Zito.

Returning board members include Benjamin Bluman, David Carlson, Carol Cassell, Bonnie Ann Glica, Mary Beth Farrugio, Richard Koch, Brian K. Lewis, Nancy Maloney, David Montesanti, Dr. OlehPankewycz, Sabrina Perry, Dr. Donald Trump, Timothy White, Betsy Wright, the Rev. Richard Zajac and H. Luanne Zuccari.


Stanley Zionts of Williamsville, University at Buffalo distinguished professor emeritus, recently was named a fellow of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences at its annual meeting in Pittsburgh.

The award is reserved for distinguished individuals who have demonstrated outstanding and exceptional accomplishments and experience in operations research and the management sciences.

Zionts has been recognized for major research contributions in several areas of management science and operations research, including linear and integer programming and multiple criteria decision-making.

There are no comments - be the first to comment