Share this article

print logo

Minimum of drama in local elections

There were plenty of elections Tuesday, but not a lot of drama, as voters across Western New York cast their ballots in village elections.


There were contested races in Gowanda, South Dayton, Cattaraugus and Limestone. Trustee and mayoral candidates in six other villages ran unopposed.

In Gowanda, where voters chose two trustees, incumbent Dale DeCarlo with 254 votes and John Certis with 226 defeated former Mayor Donald Lazar and Ed Kota, who received 186 and 135 respectively.

Incumbent June M. Ellis lost another bid for Cattaraugus trustee to newcomers Matthew J. O'Connor and Patrick J. McGlew. O'Connor got 64 votes and McGlew got 79, while Ellis finished with 51.

South Dayton residents elected two candidates from a slate of four contenders vying for four-year terms. The winners were Republicans Brian K. Himes, 62 votes, and Scott R. Kerr, 52. They defeated Democrats Barbara J. Butcher with 45 votes and Gary J. McAlpine with 17.

Limestone voters gave Donald McAlpine a two-year term on the Village Board over Floyd P. Mohr. The vote was 17-10.


Voters in Silver Creek elected David Fancher and Anthony G. Borrello to the Village Board, ousting incumbent Frieda Barnes.

Fancher had 255 votes, Borrello 216 votes and Barnes 179. Both will serve two-year terms.


In the village of Le Roy, Trustee Raymond Yacuzzo, a former mayor and trustee, and incumbent Trustee Angelo Steffenello were elected to four-year terms on the Village Board. The two Democrats polled 459 and 415 votes, respectively, besting Republican challengers Marguerite Green and Stephen P. Molton, with 351 and 339 votes, respectively.


Albion Mayor Edward L. Salvatore's bid for re-election failed by two votes on Tuesday, as Democrat Michael Hadick won 440 to 438.

Winning seats on the Albion Village Board were Progressive Party candidate H. Dale Banker, with 486 votes, and Democrat Kevin P. Sheehan, 450. They beat Democrat Christopher Kinter, 426, and Progressive John R. Daniels, 368.

Salvatore, a Republican, also ran on the Progressive Party line.


Contested races were held in Perry and Silver Springs:

In Silver Springs, three candidates ran for two, two-year Village Board seats. Winners were Thomas Dixon, a Republican, who got 77 votes, and Raymond King, a Democrat, who received 72 votes. Thomas Surtel, former Silver Springs mayor and incumbent Republican member of the Village Board, got 46 votes.

In Perry, four candidates ran for two, two-year seats on the Perry Village Board. Michael Laraby, who ran on the Democratic and Republican tickets, got 323 votes and won. So did Mandi Harvey, who ran as a Democrat and on the Perry First ticket. She got 253 votes.

Dennis Vergason, former Perry mayor, ran on the Pride in Perry ticket and got 117 votes. Henry Woitscheck, former village trustee, ran as a Republican and got 187 votes.

There are no comments - be the first to comment