Share this article

print logo

Reporters' Notebook / Bits and pieces of news...

OLAF FUB SEZ: According to American poet Marianne Moore (1887-1972), "The passion for setting people right is in itself an afflictive disease."


CABBAGE ROLLS -- The Pyrohy (Pierogi) Club of St. John the Baptist Ukrainian Catholic Church is selling "very delicious" cabbage rolls from 2 to 6 p.m. every Thursday at the church, 3275 Elmwood Ave., Town of Tonawanda, according to a note from Raisa Skrobala, club president.

She said orders for the rolls, which are made of sauerkraut, potato and cheese, can be phoned in to 873-5011 between those hours on Thursdays.


PASTA DINNERS will be served by the Niagara-Orleans District Order of the Eastern Star from noon to 5 p.m. Sunday in Lockport Masonic Hall, Main and Cottage streets. The all-you-can-eat meals cost $6 at the door and include chef salad, Italian bread and butter, choice of home-made dessert and beverage. Proceeds will be donated to Opportunities Unlimited-Lockport. The building is handicapped friendly and elevator accessible.


ESSAY CONTEST -- Once again, with the administrative assistance of the area's German teachers, "der Volksfreund/People's Friend" newspaper is holding its annual Joseph P. Wirth Essay Contest in memory of the publication's previous editor.

The topic of the contest, for high school and middle school students, is "Deutsch means business" and is designed to explore the business advantages of learning German. Entry forms are being distributed through the Western New York Chapter of the American Association of Teachers of German and also are available by calling 852-1829.

Anne Crusan of Hoover Middle School in the Town of Tonawanda, president of the chapter, is coordinating the event.

Contest entries must bear a postmark and be submitted by April 7 to Joseph Wirth Essay Contest, Erickson Enterprises Inc., Suite 941 Ellicott Square, Buffalo, NY 14203. Any student of German in a bona fide course of instruction may enter. Submission may be in German or English. Points will be added, however, if submitted in German.

Burt Erickson Nelson, Wirth's successor, said cash prizes will be awarded as well as subscriptions to the newspaper. Entries will be judged by Nelson, Hildegard Weber, Dorothy Wiswall, James McGoldrick and Edward A. Fleckenstein.


HAPPY BIRTHDAY -- Alysia Torres, Charisse Panaro, Anthony George Pace, Vanessa Rene Pace, Mark Sikorski, Michael Wolanczyk, Don Copoulos, Shayna Miller, Tim Rathburn, Evan Pokrandt, Ardella Camm, Matthew Swierczynski, Jeffrey Stumpf and Pat Dennies.

AND THURSDAY -- Cody Armstrong, Jerry DePainter, Jerry Balisteri, Anthony Ring, Anna Kennelly, Don Kirchberger, Megan Lynn Pajak, Barbette DeMarco, Francis McCabe, Anne O'Brien, Jack O'Leary, Riley Doctor, Jim McGrady, Mary Semski, Pat Myers, Paul Patterson, Kaitlin Kasprzyk, Margie L. Short, Sean Mann and Katie McMahon.


There are no comments - be the first to comment