Share this article

print logo

Reynolds, Liegel win Primary victors vie to succeed Chase

Democrat Robert B. Reynolds Jr. and Republican James Liegel have won their parties' endorsements to run for the 12th District seat being vacated by Erie County Legislator Jeanne Z. Chase of Eden.

Erie County election commissioners determined late Wednesday night that Reynolds, the endorsed Democrat, defeated challenger Richard A. Mack by a vote of 1,375 to 798. Reynolds will also be on the Democratic, Independence, Conservative and Working Families party lines in November.

Liegel upset the endorsed candidate, Janet L. Schumer, 1,049-923, in the Republican primary.

Commissioners Ralph M. Mohr and Dennis E. Ward also announced that the race for mayor of the City of Tonawanda will pit Ronald J. Pilozzi against Gayle L. Syposs.

Pilozzi won the GOP primary, polling 401 votes. Thomas W. Smyers had 283 and Thomas J. Christy 103. Pilozzi also captured the Independence Party line with 33 votes, defeating Syposs, with 26, and Smyers, with six.

Syposs won the Democratic line, defeating Jay R. Ralph, 440-424. She also squeaked past Kenneth C. Horn, 23-22, to win the Conservative line. Pilozzi's write-in campaign garnered just 18 Conservative votes, but he won the Working Families primary with five write-in votes.

In the Town of Alden, the endorsed candidates for supervisor won their party lines, as Michael Cole defeated Walter Czechowski Jr., 74-42, in the Conservative primary. Czechowski fought back a challenge by Cole and retained the Independence line, 28-7.

For Town Board seats, William R. Weber and Mary Riddoch will appear on the Conservative line, having outpolled Robert J. Kelchlin and James M. Lorenzi. Kelchlin and Lorenzi held the Independence line, defeating Riddoch and Weber.

Alden Town Clerk Dorothy Bycina held her Republican line over challenger Jennifer Lynch and also defeated Lynch's write-in effort for the Conservative line. However, Lynch retained her Independence line by two votes.

Town Justice Daniel R, Pautler defeated Michael R. Zosh in the Republican, Democratic, Independence and Conservative primaries. Highway Superintendent Harry Milligan retained the GOP line over challenger Mark Pruitt and also retained the Independence and Conservative lines.


There are no comments - be the first to comment