Share this article

print logo

Incumbents among losers in primary

An incumbent mayor, legislator and Niagara Falls City Council member were among the casualties in Niagara County primaries Tuesday.

Michael P. Carney won a three-way Republican primary race for North Tonawanda mayor, unseating incumbent Mayor David J. Burgio. Carney will face Alderman Lawrence V. Soos, the Democratic nominee, in November.

"It just proves that good, old-fashioned campaigns are what win races," said Carney, the County Legislature clerk. "Now we will take our message of lower taxes, a more efficient government and bringing jobs to North Tonawanda to the whole city."

Meanwhile, North Tonawanda Democrats dumped William M. Davignon, the only county legislator to lose a primary.

In Niagara Falls, Democratic voters ousted Councilman Glenn A. Choolokian, who ran fifth in a six-man race for three Council nominations.

Elsewhere, Lockport City Judge William J. Watson came within a vote of sweeping all five party primaries, while 3rd Ward Democrats chose Flora M. McKenzie for alderwoman, the first African -American ever to appear on a major line on a general election ballot in the city.

Former Newfane Supervisor Timothy R. Horanburg was an apparent winner over incumbent Eric P. Krueger in the most hotly contested town race.

Following is a roundup of unofficial returns.

> 1st Legislative District

Incumbent Jason J. Murgia defeated Thomas J. Scozzafava in a Democratic race, 376-260. Murgia, a Democrat who caucuses with the Republicans, will be unopposed in November.

> 3rd Legislative District

Another Democrat who votes with the GOP, incumbent Rebecca E. Cuddahee, defeated former City Councilman James C. Stewart, 223-140. Paul A. Mattuccilli ran third with 120. Cuddahee will be unopposed in November.

> 4th Legislative District

Incumbent Democrat Dennis F. Virtuoso won an Independence Party primary against Republican Joseph S. Urso, 11-1. Urso hopes to have the GOP line in November, but he had to survive a write-in race, the results of which were not tallied Tuesday.

> 6th Legislative District

Incumbent Danny W. Sklarski edged Robert S. LaBarbera in the Democratic primary, 423-412. Sklarski may be unopposed in November, as he defeated Donald G. Hobel in the Conservative primary, 18-15. There was a write-in for the Working Families line, whose results weren't counted Tuesday.

> 9th Legislative District

Joseph A. Vacanti Jr. defeated Davignon in the Democratic race, 376-344. Vacanti is the GOP candidate in November; there were write-in races for the three minor lines, which represent Davignon's only hope of re-election.

> 12th Legislative District

Democratic Lewiston Town Councilman John D. Ceretto won the Republican primary over fellow Councilman Daniel F. Kilmer, 341-272. Another fellow councilman, Michael A. Johnson, defeated Ceretto for the Democratic line, 325-274.

> 16th Legislative District

Incumbent Glenn S. Aronow defeated Board of Education President W. Keith McNall for the GOP line, 653-396. McNall will try again in November as the Democratic nominee.

> North Tonawanda

Carney defeated Burgio, 772-504. Board of Education member Arthur G. Pappas ran third, with 495 votes.

> Lockport

Watson rolled in the Republican primary with 840 votes, to 446 for Thomas M. DiMillo and 244 for David E. Blackley. Watson won the Democratic race with 407, to 346 for DiMillo and 208 for Blackley. Watson bested the same two candidates in Independence and Conservative races and tied DiMillo, 7-7, for the Working Families line. With no absentee ballots, party leaders will choose the candidate.

In the 1st Ward alderman race, Thomas A. Grzebinski II defeated William A. Richardson for the Republican line, 173-87. Richardson has the Democratic line in November.

In the 2nd Ward, Alderwoman Phyllis J. Green turned back Michael P. MacDonald for the GOP nomination, 163-87. MacDonald is the Democratic nominee for November.

In the 3rd Ward, Flora M. McKenzie defeated Michael J. Hackmer in a Democratic contest, 130-73. McKenzie, the first African-American to win a major party primary in Lockport, faces Republican Jeremy A. Hughes.

> Niagara Falls

The three Democratic Council nominations went to Samuel Fruscione, with 1,686 votes; Council Chairman Charles A. Walker, 1,612; and Christopher A. Tobins, 1,369. Trailing were Joseph T. Schiro Jr., 1,237; Choolokian, 1,210; and Samuel F. Archie, 661. Republican incumbent Candra C. Thomason will be competing in November.

> Cambria

Incumbent Robert E. Blackman and newcomer Debra L. Kroening won the two Republican Town Board seats. Blackman had 225 votes, Kroening 195. William J. Amacher trailed with 151.

> Newfane

Horanburg edged Krueger, 401-393. If the margin survives a recount, Horanburg will have to face Krueger again in November, as the incumbent has the Independence and Conservative endorsements.

Paul A. Conrad and incumbent Robert A. Pettit won the two seats in the GOP primary for Town Board. Conrad posted 536 votes and Pettit 416, while Anthony Fazzolari trailed with 365.

> Town of Niagara

Incumbent Justice John P. Teixeira came within one vote of a five-party sweep over Suzanne Marie C. Fulle. eixeira won the Republican primary, 166-63; the Democratic contest, 708-155; the Conservative race, 14-3; and the Working Families primary, 4-2. A 6-6 tie in the Independence contest could be decided by absentee ballots.

The Town Board races saw an incumbent defeated in each major party contest. Marc M. Carpenter was odd man out on the Republican side, as Jenelle L. Messer led with 136 votes and incumbent Michael J. Ross took the second available spot with 118. Carpenter received 112 votes.

On the Democratic side, Ross finished last, as Carpenter led the field with 409 votes. John P. Adams won the second nomination with 386. Robert A. Clark had 368, and Ross 345.

> Pendleton

Supervisor James A. Riester defeated former Supervisor Richard A. Brauer in the Democratic race, 213-113, and in the Working Families contest, 2-0. But Brauer has the Republican line in November.

Republican Town Clerk Terry J. Pienta easily turned back Kathleen Anthony, 162-61.

> Porter

Supervisor Merton K. Wiepert handily won the GOP primary over William J. McLaughlin, 294-165.

> Royalton

Town Justice Deborah A. Carpenter apparently was beaten in a three-way GOP primary. The other incumbent justice, Gregory A. Bass, led the field with 355 votes, while newcomer Margaret M. Raduns polled 251 and Carpenter 241.

In the Independence race, Bass polled 15, Carpenter 14 and Raduns 9. Bass led the Conservative contest with 22 votes, to 17 for Raduns and 13 for Carpenter.

A five-candidate GOP primary for three available Town Board seats was led by Richard J. Lang, a political newcomer, with 329 votes. Incumbent Lee M. Criswell was second with 284. Incumbents Calvin W. Rhoney and L. Kent Kilgore will face a recount for the third spot; Rhoney had 206 and Kilgore 203. Samuel R. Vitello trailed with 145.

> Wheatfield

Incumbents Kenneth A. Retzlaff and Arthur P. Palmer won the GOP primary for Town Board. Retzlaff polled 341 and Palmer 323' to Perry M. Ziegler's 183.

> Wilson

Councilman Bruce G. Muck edged Joseph A. Jastrzemski in the GOP race for supervisor, 281-263. Jastrzemski has the Independence and Conservative lines for November.


There are no comments - be the first to comment