Share this article

print logo

Schram nips Shaw for Freedom Raceway title

It was everything a point championship finale should be.

Tim Schram prevailed over T.J. Shaw in the Super Stock season championship race Friday at Freedom Raceway. The event featured dramatic side-by side racing, lead swapping and hard and clean driving in which both racers realized that the winner of the 20-lap main event would take the season title.

Shaw came into Friday's action holding a one-point lead (459-458) over Schram. Following the night's heat races, in which Shaw won over Schram, the pair entered the main event separated by two (462-460).

With the high point drivers starting up front per Freedom's point's championship night procedures, Shaw started on the pole with Schram to his outside. With 45 points available to the winner and only 39 for second, Schram needed to win the race to overtake Shaw.

Schram finally executed the winning pass exiting Turn Four on lap 15, going by the leader Shaw. At this point Shaw began to fade and was passed by Jack Harrington three laps before the checkered flag.

Schram clinched the title by five points, 505-500, over Shaw. Schram won five times this season at Freedom while Shaw won twice.

"I had fun," said Schram, who won his first career Freedom championship. "It was a clean race. I wanted the inside groove. I figured if he (Shaw) was going to go around me he's going to have to work harder on the outside. He left me enough room and it worked out well."

Schram concluded his big weekend by winning the BRP Can-Am Super Stock Series 40 on Saturday at Genesee Speedway.

Shaw, the 2005 McKean County Super Stock champion, got all he could out of a patched-up engine combination.

"We came here hoping for a top-five finish," Shaw said. "We got everything we were looking for. We yanked the motor out of our Dooley (race-towing vehicle) three weeks ago and put it in the race car because we lost our good motor so my brother dressed her up and it served the purpose at the end of the year."

Rich Michael Jr. emerged as the point champion in the Modifieds. Michael's brother Andy won the Street Stock title at Freedom as he did at McKean. Andy Michael has earned an amazing 22 feature wins at various tracks in 2005. Brian Conley (Mini Stock) and Curt Pastorius (Pure Stock) are Freedom's other 2005 point champions. Steve Mowery was honored as the RRS Mini Stock Series champion.

Barton bounces back

At Little Valley Speedway Saturday, Dick Barton rebounded from a tough outing a week ago to win the Regional Racing Series (RRS) Late Model 30-lap main event.

On Sept. 4, Barton blew a motor in his own car during heats. He borrowed John Lacki's car for the feature later that evening and had his throttle stick, scraping along the first turn wall, ending his night early.

This Saturday, Barton took off in his own car from the outside pole and was never seriously challenged.

Also at Little Valley Saturday, Bruce Miller ran away with the RRS Super Stock Series 20-lapper and Todd Rice secured the RRS Super Stock title. "It's been a good season," Rice said. "We've been running up front everywhere we have run and got three RRS wins this season."

Kevin Pangrazio won his second straight RRS Street Stock 15-lapper while Darren Morgan finished 10th and finally got a championship, clinching the division title.

"Last year, I had the Freedom point lead and with two weeks left I got a flat tire and John Layfield beat me by two points," Morgan said. "This RRS championship is my first championship so it feels awesome."

The ARDC Midgets made their annual trek to Little Valley Saturday and rookie Andy Martin won the 25-lap event over five-time champion Ray Bull.

Lancaster Raceway Park stock car season champions crowned Saturday night were Tom McGrath, Modified; T.J. Johnson, Late Models; Bobby Holmes, SST Sportsman; Wayne Bernhard, Super Stocks; Frank Batista, Street Stocks. The stock cars will next run at Lancaster in the U.S. Open Weekend, Sept. 23-25.


Victory Lane / Weekend winners

Lancaster Raceway Park

Super Pro: Victor Puglia
Pro: Roy Brockway
Heavy: Steve McGrath
Street: Nick Czaplicki
Motorcycles: Mike Nearhoof
Snowmobiles: Evan Haesly
Super Rod: Jason Vitez

Modifieds: Dave Wollaber
Late Models: Mark Bliss
SST Sportsman: Justin Shepker
Super Stocks: Doug Evans
Street Stocks: Jim Stein

Holland Speedway

Hornets: Jason Wozniak
Queen Bees: Mae Urban
Figure-8: Rich Perkins
School Bus Fig.-8: Ed Sullivan

Ransomville Speedway

DIRT Sportsman: Brian Sage
DIRT Pro Stocks: Jipp Ortiz
Street Stocks: Jaren Israel, Roger Israel

Freedom Raceway

Super Stocks: Tim Schram
Modifieds: Rich Michael Jr.
Street Stocks: Brett Smith
Mini Stocks: Brian Conley
Pure Stocks: Curt Pastorius

Genesee Speedway

DIRT Sportsman: Brian Sage
Super Stocks: Tim Schram
Mini Stocks: Jason Hull

There are no comments - be the first to comment