Share this article

print logo


The Western New York Women's Fund and the Buffalo Niagara Partnership have nominated 14 women for the 2005 Athena Award. The winner will be announced at a luncheon from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. on May 3 at the Hyatt Regency Buffalo.

The award recognizes someone who demonstrates professional excellence, shows support for the goals of professional women and provides assistance on their behalf.

This year's nominees are:

Mary Lee Campbell-Wisley, regional president of Univera Healthcare; Diane Daminski, general manager of the Compass Group, a marketing firm in Amherst for Boston-based New England Financial; Marian Deutschman, professor of communication at Buffalo State College; Nancy R. Dobson, executive vice president of Uniland Development Co.;

Laree Hulshoff, senior investment management consultant and senior vice president of Smith Barney's Buffalo office; Elizabeth Kolber, first vice president of investments and wealth management adviser at Merrill Lynch's Amherst office; Nancy La Tulip, senior vice president of small business lending at First Niagara Bank.

Virginia Mazgajewski, partner in Xtreme Wheels Indoor Skate Park; Mary Kate O'Connell, founder and artistic director of O'Connell & Co.; Isabel J. Robitaille, broker owner of Robitaille Relocation & Real Estate; Irene S. Snow, medical director of the Buffalo Medical Group.

Karen Trabert, chief financial officer of Wendel Duchscherer Architects & Engineers; Brenda Williams McDuffie, president and CEO of the Buffalo Urban League; Penny M. Wolfgang, State Supreme Court justice.

BlueCross BlueShield of Western New York and Rite Aid Corp. are sponsoring the luncheon. Tickets are $50 per person or $500 for a table of eight.