Share this article

print logo


Twenty-nine candidates filed petitions Monday to run in the May 17 school board elections in Niagara County's seven central school districts, where 17 board seats are at stake.

Monday was the filing deadline for the elections in these districts:

Barker: Longtime board mainstay Margo Sue Bittner decided not to run for re-election, but fellow incumbent Priscilla Whitford will be joined by challengers Louis "Jamie" Mead and Ann Hinton in seeking the two open seats.

Lewiston-Porter: Five candidates are running for two seats being vacated by Nils Olsen and Jack Burmeister. Candidates are former board President James Leighton, and James Mezhir, Robert Laub, Lynn Garcia, Neil Richardson.

Newfane: Board President Donna Hill is running for re-election, with challenges for the seat from Carol Savigny and Alfred Hastings.

Niagara-Wheatfield: Incumbents Michele Hoerner and Don Moyer Jr. are running for re-election to three-year terms. They will compete against newcomers Demosthenes "Denny" Klidonas and Ronald C. Bloom for three board seats. Incumbent Karen Sirgey is not running for another term.

Royalton-Hartland: Four candidates filed to run for three board seats. Three are incumbents: Valerie Kovach, Susan Hughes and Robin Laubacker. The fourth candidate is Margo Hall, who works for the Niagara County Sheriff's Department.

Starpoint: Board President Diane J. Braun, Vice President Sam J. Geraci and board member Janice Covell are running unopposed.

Wilson: Six candidates registered for three seats. Don Delisi is running for re-election to a three-year term. He is in a field that also includes newcomers Margaret Andrews, Jack Clement, Marianne Evans, James Hufnagel and George Waters. Board President Desiree Carlisle and board member Myron Moyer are not running for re-election.


There are no comments - be the first to comment