Share this article

print logo


The Parkinson's Wellness Group of WNY has a new name - The Parkinson's Association of WNY - and has announced a new board of directors to lead the nonprofit organization dedicated in finding a cure for debilitating neurological conditions.

William H. Scott Jr., president of Scott Danahy Naylon, is chair of the board for 2005.

Other officers include the president, Richard M. Lipka, and vice president, Tom O'Donnell.

Directors are Wesley M. Brown; Carolyn S. Doyle; Molly L. Herud; Andrew Hurley; Thomas J. McNamara; Dr. Robert J. Plunkett; Dr. Richard A. Stockton Jr.; Scott Sutherland; Kimberly Trinidad; Debra A. Valenti; Patricia R. Weigel, R.N.; Michael Whipple; and Walter J. Zurowski.

The name change is more than cosmetic, according to Scott. He said it's symbolic of a promising future for Parkinson's awareness.

"First and foremost," Scott said, "the challenge of our organization is to make our community aware of the stark reality of Parkinson's Disease. "Over 6,500 people in our area are afflicted with the disease."

He explained that the disease renders people unable to perform basic tasks "that we all take for granted." He added that "the main reason we're not moving forward to help these people is a lack of knowledge and understanding from the general public."

Susan Grelick, Amherst supervisor, recently received a "Woman of the Year" award at a dinner of the Amherst Business and Professional Women's dinner at the Country Club of Buffalo.

She was cited for "outstanding work and commitment toward positive change with girls and women in their professional endeavors" as well as her efforts to improve the community.

Grelick has been an active member of the organization since 1997 and has chaired the scholarship auction and career day activities. She also has been involved in fund-raisers.

Army 2nd Lt. Michael M. Frank, an infantry officer who received a bachelor's degree in 2004 from St. Bonaventure University, is authorized to wear the coveted Ranger Tab following his recent graduation from the U.S. Army Ranger School at Fort Benning, Columbus, Ga.

Frank, the son of Douglas O. and Elizabeth A. Frank of Cuba, proved during the 61-day course that he could successfully accomplish all required tasks during the three phases of training.

The 2000 graduate from Cuba-Rushford High School was trained to withstand the stresses of combat and overcome all obstacles to accomplish a mission under any circumstance or situation.

Boy Scout Troop 229 recently enjoyed an unusual celebration when three of its members were honored for attaining the rank of Eagle Scout.

The ceremony honoring Andrew Andrzejak, Deven McMaster and Martin Richau was held at Kenmore United Methodist Church.

McMaster organized a book drive to benefit School 78 for his Eagle project.

Richau's project was refurbishing and repainting shelters and restrooms at Ellicott Creek Park.

Andrzejak planned and supervised a bike safety rodeo for an elementary school for his project.

Troop 229, which has had 11 scouts achieve Eagle status in the last 10 years, is sponsored by the Thomas Edison Elementary School PTA. Chris Antholzner is scoutmaster of the troop.

Joe Eder of North Collins won first place in the semifinal division and second place in the finals of the 7,500-pound Modified Tractors Class at the recent 2005 National Farm Machinery Show's championship tractor pull in Louisville, Ky.

In the invitation-only event, Eder competed with the best drivers on the tractor-pulling circuit at the National Farm Machinery Show, which drew 302,116 visitors - the second-highest attendance in the show's history.

E.J. Butler of PaeTec Communications is serving as chair of the board of directors of Compeer Buffalo for 2005.

Other officers of Compeer, located at 70 Barker St. in Buffalo, include the vice chair, Jeffrey Bucki of Travers Collins & Company; secretary, Zoe A. Koston of the University at Buffalo School of Social Work; and treasurer, Kevin C. Winder, of Alliance Advisory Group.

New board members are Carrie Alaimo, Trina Burruss and Thomas M. Trainor. Other board members are Melissa Baumgart, Brian Bocketti, Samantha Clark, Susan E. Davidson, Maureen E. Furlong, Jeffrey Hirschfelt, Mark J. Stuhlmiller, Thomas Vacanti and Alana J. Weeks.

Compeer recruits, screens and matches trained volunteers and mentors in one-to-one friendship relationships with children and adults receiving mental health services.

Grace Di Virgilio, a hospital circuit librarian since 1995, has been promoted by the Western New York Library Resources Council to Hospital Library Services Program coordinator.

In her new post, she will be responsible for providing quality information resources and services to hospitals in six Western New York counties.

The program was formed in 1982 by the New York State Legislature to provide medical information services to acute care hospitals. The Council is a nonprofit consortium of 100 member libraries and library systems serving Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Niagara and Orleans counties. It provides easy access to libraries located in the six counties through

Marion Miano, RN, diabetes educator for Medina Memorial Hospital, has received the Western New York American Association of Diabetes Educator of the Year Award for 2004-05.

Miano, treasurer of the association, is facilitator for Diabetes Support Groups at Clarence, Albion, Medina and the Batavia facility. She has served on the committee for America's Walk for Diabetes for 12 years and has been a rest stop captain for Tour de Cure since 1992.

In addition, she works with the Lions Club and American Diabetes Association in providing community education programs about the disease.