Share this article

print logo


Joseph E. Foley, the current head of the Buffalo Professional Firefighters, won re-election Thursday night to another two-year term as president, union officials announced.

Foley faced challenges from former union President Vincent Gugliuzza, who headed the union for nearly three years before stepping down in 2001, and firefighter Mark Suggs, who helped organize protests against city budget cuts he claims compromise public safety.

Exact voting numbers were unavailable as officials still were finalizing the tallies late Thursday night, union leaders said.

Other elected officers include: Daniel Cunningham, vice president; Peter Margerum, recording secretary; Daniel O'Connor, secretary-treasurer; Timothy Cassel, sergeant-at-arms; and four new trustees, Vern Stephens, Phil Losi, Scott Skinner and Kevin Lozano.