Share this article

print logo


Voters in the village and town will be going back to the polls next week to decide whether to create a special district library.

The vote is set from noon to 9 p.m. next Tuesday in the library, 305 S. Eighth St.

About 25 interested residents attended an information session Monday to learn about the new special district library designation, hear from trustee candidates and receive a breakdown of the board's planned budget.

A $350,000 tax levy from village and town residents who live in the new district will fund the majority 2005 budget of $392,942.

Library Director Lisa Seivert said the new charter plan is unique in Western New York, where most libraries are municipal or school district libraries.

She said the rechartering means the library will no longer have to request funding from the town or village, but will appeal directly to residents.

The proposed budget tax rate would cost special district residents, $57 per $100,000 of assessed valuation.

Fourteen candidates will seek seven trustee seats, with four incumbents, board President Robert M. Presutti, Teresa Sharp Donaldson, Nancy K. Smith and Gretchen Denk, seeking terms. Currently four trustees are appointed by the town, and three are appointed by the village. Terms are for five years.

Also seeking seats are two current councilmen, Daniel F. Kilmer and D. James Langlois. Also, James F. Mudd, Frank Collins, Robert A. Linn, David B. Baird, Michael H. Shaw, Alonza "A.J." Jackson-McCabe, Craig W. Drachenberg and Harrison L. Coppock.


There are no comments - be the first to comment