Share this article

Open for business
Find out the latest updates from local businesses as our region reopens.
print logo


A three-way race for president of the Seneca Nation of Indians is now official.

The candidates are Cyrus M. Schindler Jr., Barry E. Snyder Sr. and Robert W. Jones, all of the Cattaraugus Indian Reservation, who filed election papers with the nation's clerk by the Tuesday deadline in order to appear on the Nov. 2 ballot.

Schindler broke away from the ruling Seneca Party to form his own party, the Seneca Alliance, after losing the Sept. 27 primary contest to Snyder.

Both Snyder and Schindler have assembled full slates of candidates to run with them on their tickets.

Seneca President Rickey L. Armstrong Sr., whose term is expiring, is running for treasurer on the Seneca Alliance ticket against Maurice "Moe" John Sr., the Seneca Party's candidate for treasurer.

Joyce "Beanie" Gates-Jamieson, the Seneca Party's candidate for clerk of the nation, is running against Geraldine "Bird" Huff, the Seneca Alliance's candidate for clerk.

Jones is running as an independent candidate for president.

There are no comments - be the first to comment