Share this article

print logo


The Chautauqua County Independence Party has endorsed Dunkirk Mayor Richard Frey for the city's first four-year mayoral term, if he chooses to run in November.

Frey, a Republican, said Friday he expected to announce June 9 whether he will seek re-election.

For other Dunkirk positions, endorsements went to incumbents: 2nd Ward Councilman Kevin Muldowney, a Republican; 3rd Ward Councilman Richard Makuch, a Democrat; and 4th Ward Councilwoman Janet Jankowski-George, a Democrat.

Interviews will be held for the at-large and 1st Ward Council seats.

The party also endorsed nine Democrats seeking re-election to the County Legislature: Chester L. Tarnowski, Dunkirk; Wally J. Huckno Sr., Lula M. Taylor, Jane M. Fagerstrom, Anthony M. Teresi, Tara Hall-Viele, Maria M. Kindberg and Joseph Trusso Jr., all of Jamestown, and Francis E. Lus of Brocton.

It also endorsed nine Republicans in County Legislature races: Alvin "Mac" Crowe, Silver Creek; Jerry L. Park, Forestville; Brian C. Abram, Sinclairville; Stephen N. Kimball, Falconer; David Mitchell in District 8 in Frewsburg; Lance S. Spicer, Falconer; Richard C. Babbage, Bemus Point; Fred Croscut, Sherman; and Douglas V. Richmond, Westfield. All except Park and Mitchell are incumbents.

The party also elected Maclain Nichols to succeed Randall J. Brown as chairman.

There are no comments - be the first to comment