Share this article

print logo


Norman L. Polanski is the Democratic candidate for mayor of Lackawanna.

Now completing his first term as City Council president, Polanski was the unanimous choice of 49 of the 52 members of the Lackawanna Democratic Committee who attended a nominating meeting this week, said Fran Warthling, committee chairman.

Mayor John J. Kuryak, who has accepted a job with the Erie County Water Authority, at first had said he would not seek re-election, but then changed his mind and said he was a candidate. He had talked about making the mayor's job a part-time position.

But he was not at the meeting and was not nominated, Warthling said.

Councilman Daniel Kozub of the 2nd Ward and Alex David, a resident, also were announced candidates.

By a 48-1 vote, 4th Ward Councilman Ronald Spadone was selected to be the candidate for Council president. He is prohibited by term limits from seeking a third term as councilman. Joseph Schiavi was the unanimous choice to succeed Spadone as the ward's representative.

Andrea Haxton, a resident, and Thomas Makeyenko also were candidates. Councilman Chuck Jaworski of the 3rd Ward withdrew.

Joseph Carnevale, who previously said he was a candidate for Council, had said he would run for Council president, but the notification was too late for consideration at the meeting, Warthling said.


There are no comments - be the first to comment