Share this article

print logo


Petitions have been filed with Cattaraugus County requesting a voter referendum on a new redistricting plan.

Acting County Administrator Jack Searles said he received a 101-page petition that will be turned over to the Board of Elections to verify signatures are those of qualified voters.

Searles said the board has 30 days to check the signatures and report back to him.

Petitions were filed by County Democratic Party Chairman Richard O. Stevenson shortly before the 5 p.m. deadline Friday.

Currently the Legislature is controlled by Republicans, 17-4.

Following the October vote in which the plan was approved 11-9, county Democratic Party Chairman Richard O. Stevenson said, "We don't believe 21 legislators should be able to decide how people should be governed in this county. The people should make that choice. "

About 1,200 signatures are needed.

The new districts are:

District 1 -- towns of Perrysburg and Dayton represented by one legislator.

District 2 -- towns of Persia, Otto, East Otto, Leon and New Albion, two legislators.

District 3 -- towns of Mansfield, Little Valley, Napoli, Conewango and Randolph, two legislators.

District 4 -- towns of Yorkshire, Freedom and Farmersville, two legislators.

District 5 -- towns of Ashford, Ellicottville, Machias, Franklinville, Lyndon, Humphrey and Ischua (new), three legislators.

District 6 -- City of Olean, Wards 2-1 and 7; towns of Olean, Hinsdale, Portville, three legislators.

District 7 -- Town of Allegany, two legislators.

District 8 -- towns of Great Valley and Carrollton, one legislator.

District 9 -- City of Salamanca, towns of Salamanca, Red House, Coldspring and South Valley, two legislators.

District 10 -- City of Olean, Wards 1, 2-2, 3, 4, 5 and 6, three legislators.

There are no comments - be the first to comment