Share this article

print logo


The Niagara Hospice Cup Charity Regatta winners at the Youngstown Yacht Club were Vic Snyder, Kevin Doyle and Jake Doyle. The winners will compete in the National Hospice Regatta Alliance Championship next year in Annapolis, Md.

Snyder and the crew of Mo Money placed first; J. Tovey and the crew of Fish placed second; and Chris Doyle and the crew of Elmo placed third overall.

This year's race was dedicated to Jack Beatty, a Niagara Hospice patient who also raced in the Aug. 11 event. Beatty died Aug. 16 under Niagara Hospice care.

Cynthia Bianco, assistant superintendent of Niagara Falls schools, has been elected to the board of the Superintendency Institute of America. The group seeks to identify and nurture superintendents transforming schools to educate all children, as well as to assist and support superintendents. It is based on the belief that all youngsters can master essential curriculum at each grade level.

Bianco will serve on the organization's board for three years.

The board of trustees of Niagara County Community College has appointed members of several advisory boards whose task is to keep the college up to date on specific industries.

Appointed were Ruth Pirinelli of Starpoint Central School, to the Administrative Assistant Professional Advisory Committee; Dan Hulub of Rapid Design Service, to Computer-Aided Drafting and Design; and Carol Bateman of Niagara County Rape Crisis Services, to Human Services.

Reappointed to the Ornamental Horticultural Advisory Committee was William Bergeron of the State Power Authority; Paul Dickenson, a horticulturist; Diana Marsh of Menne Nursery; and Diane Orr of Cornell Cooperative Extension of Niagara County.

Linda Laney, a graphic arts instructor at the Orleans-Niagara Board of Cooperative Educational Services, has been honored with the VanHaswyk-Jasser Award, presented annually to craftsmen who have made outstanding contributions to the International Association of Printing House Craftsmen.

It is the organization's highest industry-education award.

Laney was recognized for enthusiasm and for exemplifying the organization's motto, "Share Your Knowledge."

She serves as a student craftsmen adviser, is Student Education Day chairwoman in the Buffalo Club and acts as a Vocational Industrial Clubs of America adviser for BOCES. She is now the 3rd District governor for the Buffalo Club as well.

"I really think my students helped me achieve this. I get very excited when they achieve a goal and get good jobs," Laney said.

Don Glynn, a Niagara Gazette columnist, has been honored by the Lewiston Kiwanis for dedication to community organizations and promotion of events as well as for working to improve the quality of life in the Niagara community. He was given the special award at the recent Niagara County Peach Festival, sponsored by the Lewiston Kiwanis.

Kenneth M. Franasiak, co-founder and president of Calamar, a Niagara County real estate firm, has been named to the Niagara Binational Economic Roundtable Committee, where he will represent Niagara County in efforts to formulate a regional economic strategy.

The round table comprises members from the public and private sector representing the United States and Canada. The purpose of the forum is to address economic issues and opportunities for the Niagara binational region and trade corridor and develop strategies to attract business and investments from specific sectors of the economy.

The round table is headed by Robert E. Rich Jr., president of Rich Products in Buffalo. Franasiak is one of two representatives from Niagara County appointed to the group. The other is Frank Pirtle, president of Delphi Harrison Thermal Systems, Lockport.

Calamar was cited for its success in bringing the first business park and multi-tenant facility to Niagara County in more than a decade.

The Pine Avenue Business Association recently honored members at its annual boss-employee luncheon.

Honored were: Business Association Boss of the Year, James Cancemi, president of Cancemi Furniture; and Employees of the Year, Denise Munschauer, personal lines customer service representative of the Accardo Agency, and Terry Smith, chiropractic assistant for Family Chiropractic.

Cancemi established his business 30 years ago. He is a member of the Niagara Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, the Cristoforo Columbo Society and the Sertoma Club. He is on the board of Niagara County Community College and volunteers his time and service to United Cerebral Palsy Association, Community Missions, the Niagara Falls Boys Club and the Nick Antonacci Valentines Scholarship dinner.

Munschauer has been with the Accardo Agency for more than 11 years and was nominated by her boss, Frank Accardo, for professionalism, organizational skills and efficiency.

Smith began working for Family Chiropractic in May and was nominated by her boss, Dr. Kristen Jacobsen. Jacobsen said Munschauer arrived in the office in the "midst of a computer catastrophe" and with enthusiasm and determination put the management system back together, while also making each patient feel welcome.