Share this article

print logo


Edward DeJaneiro Jr., a veteran member of the City Council, won the Democratic primary Tuesday in a race with fellow Council Member Kathleen Briggs for a seat in the Genesee County Legislature. The vote was 116-79.

Briggs switched from the Republican Party to the Democratic Party last fall. She is in her first term as a ward Council member.

The two candidates will face each other in the November election. Briggs has the Conservative Party line. DeJaneiro also has the Liberal Party endorsement.

The Republican candidate is Thomas C. Tucker, a retired state trooper and former county legislator. The winner will succeed Legislator Connie J. Boyd, who is not seeking another term.

Other races in the county:

TOWN OF BATAVIA: Republican maverick June C. Vukman bested Donald L. Patridge, 369-324, for the GOP line. Vukman, who is seeking her eighth two-year term, already has the support of the Democratic and Conservative parties.

For Town Board seats, Republicans Donald R. Worthington and Daniel G. Underhill gained ballot spots, polling 405 and 382 votes, respectively. They beat incumbent Mark S. Johnson, who had 367 votes.

In the contest for the Republican line in the race for town justice, Joseph J. Filio was the winner over incumbent Bernard J. Ronan, 375-263.

BETHANY: GOP voters gave Deputy Highway Superintendent Roy A. Hersee a two-vote margin for the post of superintendent. He beat Michael F. Adams, 106-104. However, there are five absentee ballots to be counted next week.

COUNTY LEGISLATURE: In an unusual Conservative Party write-in for the Oakfield-Alabama legislative seat, Earl C. LaGrou polled 20 votes. LaGrou is also the GOP choice. Two Alabama Town Board members, Joseph J. Cassidy and Ronald P. Pritchett, had 4 and 2 votes, respectively. Pritchett will be on the November ballot as an Independence Party candidate, and Cassidy is the Democratic Party choice. All three will be contesting the seat held for the last two years by Legislator Matthew D. Betters, a Democrat from Oakfield, who is stepping down.

There are no comments - be the first to comment