Share this article

print logo


Winston Cup

Event: MBNA Cal Ripken Jr. 400.

Site: Dover, Del.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying (CNN/SI, 1:30 p.m.); Sunday, race (NBC, 12:30 p.m.)

Track: Dover Downs International Speedway (oval, 1-mile, 24 degrees banking in turns).

Race distance: 400 miles, 400 laps.

Last race: The New Hampshire 300 in Loudon, N.H., was postponed until Nov. 23 due to the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks.

Fast facts: The worst starting position for a Dover fall winner is 15th by Dale Earnhardt in 1989. . . . Bobby Allison won the 1971 race, the only time the event was caution-free. . . . Mark Martin won the race from 1997-99.

Next race: Protection One 400, Sept. 30, Kansas City, Kan.


Event: 200.

Site: Dover, Del.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying, noon; Saturday, race (TNT, 1 p.m.)

Track: Dover Downs International Speedway (oval, 1-mile, 24 degrees banking in turns).

Race distance: 200 miles, 200 laps.

Last race: Jimmy Spencer pulled away from fellow Winston Cup regular Matt Kenseth on a restart with 35 laps to go and won the crash-filled Autolite FRAM 250 in Richmond, Va. The victory was Spencer's third in 13 starts in the series this year and gave him a sweep of the Busch races in Richmond.

Fast facts: Chevrolets have won seven of the last eight fall races at Dover. . . . There have been 14 different winners in the last 15 fall races in Dover. Harry Gant is the only multiple winner, taking home the title in 1990-91.

Next race: Mr. Goodcents 300, Sept. 29, Kansas City, Kan.

Championship Auto Racing Teams

Event: Rockingham 500.

Site: Corby, England.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying, 8:30 a.m.; Saturday, race (ESPN, 7:30 a.m.)

Track: Rockingham Motor Speedway (rectangular oval, 1.5 miles, 8 degrees banking in turns).

Race distance: 312 miles, 208 laps.

Last race: Two-time CART champion Alex Zanardi lost both legs when his car was hit by another traveling about 200 mph in a race renamed the American Memorial 500 following the terrorist attacks. The 34-year-old Italian was leading with 12 laps left. Kenny Brack won the race, held in Klettwitz, Germany, under a yellow flag.

Fast facts: This is the second event in CART's history in Europe. . . . Brack leads Gil de Ferran by 11 points in the standings.

Next race: Texaco-Havoline Grand Prix, Oct. 7, Houston.

Craftsman Trucks

Last race: The Silverado 350 in Fort Worth, Texas, was postponed until Oct. 5 due to the terrorist attacks.

Next race: Craftsman 250, Sept. 28, South Boston, Va.

Indy Racing League

Last race: The Chevy 500 in Fort Worth, Texas was postponed until Oct. 6 due to the terrorist attacks.

Next race: Chevy 500, Oct. 6, Fort Worth, Texas.

Formula One

Last race: Juan Pablo Montoya won the Italian Grand Prix. The Colombian driver won for the first time in Formula One in a race preceded by an aborted action by drivers in which a no-passing rule was proposed. The former CART champion, in his first Formula One season, won in a Williams BMW -- 5.1 seconds ahead of Ferrari's Rubens Barrichello. Ralf Schumacher, in a second Williams, was third.

Next race: U.S. Grand Prix, Sept. 30, Indianapolis.

Holland Speedway

Saturday: NASCAR All-Division Season Championships, 4:30 p.m.

Lancaster Motorsports Park

Friday: IHRA Drag Racing, 7 p.m.

Saturday: Racer Garage Sale and Flea Market for all race vehicles type, 10 a.m.; Stock practice, 2 p.m.

Sunday: IHRA Drag Racing Points Event, 11 a.m.

Jeff Gordon 3768
Ricky Rudd 3546
Dale Jarrett 3375
Tony Stewart 3356
Sterling Marlin 3302
B. Labonte 3267
EarnhardtJr 3244
Kevin Harvick 3230
Rusty Wallace 3225
J. Benson 3098
Kevin Harvick 3931
Jason Keller 3657
Jeff Green 3554
Greg Biffle 3529
Elton Sawyer 3269
Tony Raines 3159
M. McLaughln 3151
J. Johnson 3133
Chad Little 3081
Kenny Wallace 2972
Jack Sprague 2910
Joe Ruttman 2883
Scott Riggs 2853
Travis Kvapil 2771
Ted Musgrave 2758
R. Hendrick 2757
Terry Cook 2654
Dennis Setzer 2616
Rick Crawford 2549
Coy Gibbs 2284
Kenny Brack 131
Gil de Ferran 120
M. Andretti 115
H. Castroneves 111
Scott Dixon 86
Dario Franchitti 85
P. Carpentier 83
C. da Matta 78
Roberto Moreno 74
Tony Kanaan 72
Sam Hornish Jr. 451
Buddy Lazier 385
Scott Sharp 315
Felipe Giaffone 295
Billy Boat 295
Eliseo Salazar 276
Al Unser Jr. 259
Eddie Cheever 249
Jeff Ward 232
Buzz Calkins 222
M. Schumacher 104
David Coulthard 57
R. Barrichello 48
Ralf Schumacher 44
Mika Hakkinen 24
Juan Montoya 15
J. Villeneuve 11
Nick Heidfeld 11
Kimi Raikkonen 9
Jarno Trulli 9
Late Model
Pro Stock
Vern Bliss 1086
Mark Bliss 942
Troy Williams 874
Marty Kling 850
Rick Jones 836
Nick Crassi 680
Mark Deney 672
D. Domanowski 626
Eldon King 620
Art Logsdon 620
Pro Modifieds
Neil Hopkins 1086
Neal Dietz 1076
S. Kreitzbndr 1008
David Hannahs 810
Tom Webber 772
Pro Trucks
Brandon Metz 1054
Bob Manko 1054
J. Matuszak 1016
John Stout 974
Jeff Brown 816
Final Modifieds
Sege Fidanza 826
Danny Knoll Jr. 775
Jim Flanigan 714
Don Staubitz 687
Tom McGrath 685
Billy Putney 658
Karl Hehr 639
Brett Scherrer 630
Rich Littlefield 616
Tim Mangus 486
Final Late Models
Tim Windnagle 875
Tom Macleod 862
Bob Weber 854
Joe Carbone 758
Randy Frantz 751
Final Sportsman
Jerry Gradl 973
Kevin Eckerich 841
Jim Pierce 796
Nick Capelli 793
Michael Shields 789
Super Pro
Thurnherr I-II 900
Muro-Passero 840
M. Owczarczak 800
Pease-Flanigan 780
Andy Gregoire 730
Vic Puglia 720
Bighm-Stschk 700
Christian-Yacos 700
Ron Spank 690
Bruce Matthews 680
Final Modifieds
Danny Johnson 765
Pete Bicknell 718
Todd Burley 674
Vic Coffey 668
Robbie Krull 633
Ricky Richner 632
Billy Krull 603
Todd Gordon 573
Don Spatarico 549
Sam Crogan 457
Final Sportsman
C. Brachmann 814
Don Martin 760
Stewart Friesen 716
Randy Chrysler 683
Jeff McGinnis 674
Final Pro Stocks
Joe Stefanski 736
Jason Boyle 705
Pat McCoy 676
Pete Stefanski 632
Steve Lewis 626

There are no comments - be the first to comment