Share this article

print logo


After weeks of competitions at area schools, about 100 children participated this week in the finals of the annual Niagara Police Athletic League Bicycle Safety Rodeo, held at the Niagara Falls Convention and Civic Center. In tests of skill, control over their bicycles and knowledge of safety rules and equipment, the students pedaled their way to recognition.

For the second consecutive year, Starpoint Central School student Jenna Bush and Tyler O'Callaghan of 60th Street School were the big wheels. They won their division in the 9-and-10-year-old age group and were named overall winners for the entire event.

The first-place winners for each age group are: ages 5 and 6: Hannah Yeomann of Drake School, Jake Dixon of Prince of Peace School; ages 7 and 8 -- Jeffrey Kohnke or Geraldine Mann School and Sarah Drake of Drake School; and 11 and 12: Amber Renne of Geraldine Mann School and Daniel Drake of Drake School.

There are no comments - be the first to comment