Share this article

print logo


Winston Cup

Event: UAW-DaimlerChrysler 400.

Site: Las Vegas.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying (Fox Sports Net, 5 p.m.); Sunday, race (Ch. 29, 2 p.m.)

Track: Las Vegas Motor Speedway (tri-oval 1.5 miles, 12 degrees banking in turns).

Race distance: 400.5 miles, 267 laps.

Last race: Steve Park honored his late boss by driving a Dale Earnhardt car to victory on Monday in the Dura Lube 400. Park held off Winston Cup champion Bobby Labonte by two car-lengths in the rain-delayed race at North Carolina Speedway. The race began Sunday and was postponed by rain after just 52 of 393 laps.

Last year: Jeff Burton won the rain-shortened event. NASCAR stopped the race after 148 of a scheduled 267 laps.

Fast facts: Jeff Burton outraced brother Ward to the finish line in 1999. It was the first 1-2 finish by brothers since Terry Labonte beat Bobby in 1997 in Talladega, Ala. . . . Only the inaugural race in 1998 was won from a top-10 starting position. . . . Ricky Rudd started on the pole last season.

Next race: Cracker Barrel 500, Mar. 11, Hampton, Ga.

On the net:


Event: Sam's Town 300.

Site: Las Vegas.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying (Fox Sports Net, 3:15 p.m.); Saturday, race (FX, 3 p.m.)

Track: Las Vegas Motor Speedway (tri-oval 1.5 miles, 12 degrees banking in turns).

Race distance: 300 miles, 200 laps.

Last race: Todd Bodine gambled on a late stop and made it pay off with a victory in the Alltel 200 North Carolina Speedway. Bodine was leading when Scott Wimmer's car hit the wall on the 183rd of 197 laps. Bodine pitted for four tires, while several other drivers, including defending series champion Jeff Green, stayed on the track.

Last year: Jeff Burton got his 11th Busch Series victory after leader Mark Martin got caught behind Jack Sprague's spinning car.

Fast facts: Jeff Gordon, making his first Busch series start since 1992, finished fourth in the 1999 race. . . . Green holds the race record of 114.153 mph in 1997. . . . Martin set the qualifying mark last year at 166.328 mph.

Next race: Aaron's 312, Mar. 10, Hampton, Ga.

On the net:

Craftsman Trucks

Event: Florida Dodge Dealers 400.

Site: Homestead, Fla.

Schedule: Saturday, qualifying, 11 a.m.; Sunday, race (ESPN, Noon).

Track: Homestead-Miami Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles, 8 degrees banking in turns).

Race distance: 250.5 miles, 167 laps.

Last race: Joe Ruttman held off Ricky Hendrick to win the season-opening Florida Dodge Dealers 250 and become the oldest winner of a stock car race at Daytona International Speedway.

Last year: Andy Houston overcame a pit-stop accident to win. It was Houston's first victory in the series since 1998.

Fast facts: Rick Crawford won the 1998 race, holding off a late charge from Jack Sprague. Crawford has not won on the circuit since, a drought of 75 races. . . . Jimmy Hensley's streak of 127 consecutive starts ended at Daytona.

Next race: Chevy Silverado 150, Mar. 17, Avondale, Ariz.

On the net:

Formula One

Event: Australian Grand Prix.

Site: Melbourne, Australia.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying, 11 p.m.; Saturday, race, 10 p.m.

Track: Albert Park Circuit (3.28 miles).

Race distance: 190.24 miles, 58 laps.

Last year: Michael Schumacher won, going to the front when Mika Hakkinen, who had led by 2.6 seconds, left on the 18th of 58 laps with smoke billowing from the rear of his car.

Fast facts: This is the first race of the season. . . . Albert Park was rebuilt for the start of the 1996 season. . . . Hakkinen was the first polesitter to win in Melbourne. Damon Hill won from the pole in previous Prix host city, Adelaide, in 1995.

Next race: Malaysian Grand Prix, mar. 18, Kuala Lumpur.

On the net:

Rusty Wallace....311
Sterling Marlin....298
Michael Waltrip....291
Bobby Hamilton....266
Steve Park....255
Bill Elliott....254
Jeff Gordon....253
Ricky Craven....249
Robert Pressley....248
Joe Nemechek....242
Kevin Harvick....340
Jeff Green....312
Kenny Wallace....302
Jason Keller....280
Jimmie Johnson....279
Greg Biffle....272
Mike McLaughlin....271
Rich Bickle....261
Chad Little....256
Randy Lajoie....247
Joe Ruttman....185
Ricky Hendrick....175
Scott Riggs....170
Lance Norick....160
Randy Tolsma....160
Terry Cook....155
Bryan Reffner....147
Coy Gibbs....146
Rick Crawford....139
Lyndon Amick....138
2000 leaders
M. Schumacher....108
Mika Hakkinen....89
David Coulthard....73
Rubens Barrichello....62
Ralf Schumacher....24
Giancarlo Fisichella....18
Jacques Villeneuve....17
Jenson Button....12
Heinz-H. Frentzen....11
Jarno Trulli....6
Mika Salo....6

There are no comments - be the first to comment