Share this article

print logo


Buffalo Firefighter Tab Casey will be honored as Rookie of the Year on Friday night at the 34th annual installation dinner of the Fire Bell Club of Buffalo, a support group of the Buffalo Fire Department.

The dinner will be held in the Holiday Inn, 4600 Genesee St., Cheektowaga.

Casey, who is assigned to Hook & Ladder 14, will be honored for his outstanding performance at the Fire Academy.

Commissioner Cornelius Keane will install the officers, including the president, Richard Sikora; vice president, Jerome McIntee; secretary, Sanford Beckman; and treasurer, John W. Supple.

Directors are Albert Duke, Gerry Sikora and Henry Radzikowski.

Guest speaker will be Gerard M. Sullivan, acting resident agent in charge of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms.

Alfred T. Caffiero of Williamsville has been named recipient of the Muscular Dystrophy Association's 2001 Personal Achievement Award for MDA's Buffalo chapter.

The national award was initiated in 1992 to recognize the accomplishments and community service of people with disabilities caused by any of the neuromuscular diseases in MDA's program.

Caffiero graduated from Ithaca College in 1960 and began work as a staff physical therapist at Mercy Hospital, where he developed a special interest in treating and training amputees. He went to St. Joseph Hospital in 1962 and developed a physical therapy department. He left the hospital in 1985 to devote more time to his private practice, Western New York Physical and Occupational Group.

As an owner and partner of the large physical and occupational therapy company, Caffiero has used his skills in clinic development, physician relations, customer service, community outreach, teaching, research and communication, according to the MDA.

He developed treatment techniques that benefited many and also participated in numerous research projects. He worked closely with the University at Buffalo on the use and effects of muscle stimulation on muscular dystrophy.

Caffiero became ill in 1996 and was eventually diagnosed with a form of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, also known as Lou Gehrig's disease. He immediately began research and treatment experimentation on himself and exchanged information with other patients and professionals all over the world.

Jerold C. Bastedo of Hamburg has been elected vice president of the New York State Council of Professional Geologists.

Richard Watt of Lancaster was elected treasurer at the organization's annual membership meeting Feb. 10 in Binghamton.

The council is sponsoring bills before the State Senate and Assembly to require the licensing of professional geologists who practice within the state. Geologists are routinely involved in matters pertaining to drinking water supplies, transportation, construction, mining, natural hazards, hazardous waste and cleanup programs.

Aaron Pomerantz, case management coordinator for UCP of Western New York, has been re-elected president as board chairman of Community Services for the Developmentally Disabled. He has served on the board for six years.

Other officers are the vice chairperson, B.J. Stasio; secretary, Linda K. Gleckel; and treasurer, Michael Helman. Board members include Modell Gault Jr., Kenneth Hennig III, Anthony S. Illos, James H. Rusert, Judith Stadler and Scott B. Vahue.

The agency, founded in 1989, provides services to people with developmental disabilities and their families in Western New York.

The National Catholic Educational Association has named Marc J. Honan of West Seneca, director of marketing communications for the Buffalo Bills, as a Catholic Elementary School Distinguished Graduate.

Honan graduated from St. John Vianney School in Orchard Park in 1984 and later from West Seneca West High School. He received a bachelor of arts degree in communications from Canisius College.

Frank L. Schlager has been elected grand commander of Cordova Caravan 26 of the International Order of Alhambra.

Others of the fraternal order of Catholic men dedicated to assisting developmentally disabled people elected to the Grand Divan include the vice commander, Ronald C. Robinson; grand scribe, Jerome E. Deinzer; scribe of the exchequer, Victor F. Turchiarelli Sr.; grand chamberlain, Charles T. Esposito; master of the oasis, Michael J. Licata; historiographer, Joseph G. Battaglia; master of the wardrobe, Roger S. Rotondo; captain of the bodyguard, Casimer Measel; sentinel of the tower, Gerald Genson; sentinel of the desert, James M. Scandurra; grand advocate, Samuel J. Yannello; and spiritual adviser, the Rev. Clatus E. Snyder.

Anthony E. Abram, a former director of Department of Labor Job Corps centers in Illinois, has been appointed executive director of Preventionfocus, a community service provider promoting healthy lifestyles for children, teens and women.

St. Mary's School for the Deaf, 2253 Main St., has announced the appointments of four new members to its board of trustees.

The new trustees are Lisa Pastor Friedman, a director and vice president of community relations for Pepsi Cola Buffalo Bottling Corp., and David J. Steinwald, human resources manager for Nabisco Brands Bakery and an adjunct professor at Cornell Institute for Industry Studies.

Also Jane E. Becker, president and owner of Family Care Services of WNY, and Lawrence McGowan, vice president and manager of Arbor Capital Management. He also serves as president and founding director of the Williamsville Education Foundation, treasurer of the Foundation for Deaf Education and trustee of the Community Music School. . . .

Robert J. Sliwa, president of Regency Sales in Amherst, has been named president of Kevin Guest House, 782 Ellicott St., Buffalo, the nation's first hospital hospitality house.

Other officers include the vice president, Glenn Pawloski; recording secretary, Scott Laubisch; corresponding secretary, Alan Donatelli; and treasurer, Darlene Spychala.

James Saxer has been installed as president and James Lawida as chief of Main-Transit Fire Department, which has been serving Amherst since 1936.

Other administrative officers include the vice president, David Henning; secretary, Brian Crossley; financial secretary, Carol Jackson; treasurer, James Gesel; and sergeant at arms, David Chmielewski.

Firematic officers include the first assistant chief, Robert Karl; second assistant chief, Jon Kemp; senior fire captain, Chris Feuz; fire captains, Michael Martin, D.J. Graff, Brian Bussman and James Edwards; fire lieutenants, Daniel Buscher, David Chmielewski, Jay Harrisburg, Joseph Szadek and Robert Zehler; EMS captain, Jeffrey Stachura; EMS lieutenants, Gary Snyder and Carol Jackson; fire police captain, Robert Kreiter; fire police lieutenant, Earl Emmons; master mechanic, Robert Leising; assistant mechanic, Brett Lesser; line clerk, Ronald Urschel; chaplain, Joseph Clouse; safety officers, John Karl and William Karl; and director to Amherst Fire Council, Ronald Urschel.

Directors include Carl Fischer, John Karl, William Karl, James Lawida, Aaron Saxer, Thomas Vanderlinden and Andrew Yambor.

Fischer was presented the George J. Karl Service Award, which is given to an individual who has "given selfless devotion to duty." The award is given in memory of George Karl, who died while responding to a house fire in 1990.

Officers of the Ladies Auxiliary include the president, Trisha Yambor; vice president, Chris McDermott; secretary, Lisa Edwards; treasurer, Barb Krebs; financial secretary, Lynn Yambor; and directors, Donna Edwards, Judy Klug, Marge Kolb, Debbie McDermott and Holly Rounds.

There are no comments - be the first to comment