Share this article

print logo


Winston Cup

Event: 400

Site: Dover, Del.

Schedule: Friday, first-round qualifying, 1:30 p.m.; Saturday, second-round qualifying, 11:30 a.m.; Sunday, race (TNN, 12:30 p.m.)

Track: Dover Downs International Speedway (oval, 1-mile, 24 degrees banking in turns).

Race Distance: 400 miles, 400 laps.

Last year: Mark Martin won for the third straight year. The victory ended a 25-race drought.

Last week: Jeff Burton won the Dura Lube 300 in Loudon, N.H., becoming the first driver in 22 years to lead every lap of a race.

Fast Facts: The worst starting position for a Dover fall winner is 15th by Dale Earnhardt in 1989. . . . Bobby Allison won the 1971 race, the only time the event was caution free.

Next race: UAW-GM Quality 500, Oct. 8, Concord, N.C.

Busch Grand National

Event: 200

Site: Dover, Del.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying, 12:15 p.m.; Saturday, race (TNN, 1 p.m.)

Track: Dover Downs International Speedway (oval, 1-mile, 24 degrees banking in turns).

Race Distance: 200 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Dale Earnhardt Jr. crashed into Matt Kenseth, and Casey Atwood made the best of it, winning the wreck-filled race.

Last week: Jeff Burton earned his 13th career Busch victory in the Autolite/FRAM 250 in Richmond, Va. Burton started second, and led 198 of 250 laps.

Next race: All Pro Bumper to Bumper 300, Oct. 7, Concord, N.C.

Formula One

Event: United States Grand Prix

Site: Indianapolis.

Schedule: Saturday, qualifying (Fox Sports Net, 2 p.m.); Sunday, race (Fox Sports Net, 2 p.m.)

Track: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (road course, 2.606-miles, 13 turns).

Race Distance: 190.294 miles, 73 laps.

Last year: Inaugural race.

Last week: Michael Schumacher revived his title hopes by winning the Italian Grand Prix in Monza, a race in which a chain collision on the first lap knocked out seven cars and killed a course worker.

Next race: Next race: Japanese Grand Prix, Oct. 8, Suzuka.

Championship Auto Racing Teams

Last week: Juan Montoya, the defending series champion, jumped from 11th to eighth in the standings, winning the Motorola 300 in Madison, Ill.

Next race: Texaco-Havoline Grand Prix, Oct. 1, Houston.

Indy Racing League

Last week: Buddy Lazier won the inaugural Belterra Resort Indy 300 in Sparta, Ky. Lazier took the lead for good 31 laps from the end of the 200-lap event, moving to the top when rookie Sarah Fisher made her final pit stop.

Next race: 500, Oct. 15, Fort Worth, Texas.


Bobby Labonte 3,931

Jeff Burton 3,763

Dale Jarrett 3,757

Dale Earnhardt 3,730

Rusty Wallace 3,462

Ricky Rudd 3,462

Tony Stewart 3,447

Mark Martin 3,429

Ward Burton 3,354

Jeff Gordon 3,220


Jeff Green 4,123

Jason Keller 3,474

Kevin Harvick 3,429

Todd Bodine 3,416

Elton Sawyer 3,182

Ron Hornaday 3,151

Randy LaJoie 2,993

David Green 2,840

Casey Atwood 2,674

Jimmie Johnson 2,612


Gil de Ferran 137

Roberto Moreno 129

Michael Andretti 127

Paul Tracy 122

Adrian Fernandez 121

Kenny Brack 118

Helio Castroneves 107

Juan Montoya 106

Cristiano da Matta 100

Jimmy Vasser 97


Buddy Lazier 258

Scott Goodyear 220

Eddie Cheever Jr. 217

Mark Dismore 186

Eliseo Salazar 180

Scott Sharp 179

Robbie Buhl 178

Donnie Beechler 174

Al Unser Jr. 173

Robby McGehee 168


Hakkinen 80

M. Schumacher 78

Coulthard 61

Barrichello 49

R. Schumacher 24

Fisichella 18

Villeneuve 11

Button 10

Frentzen 7

Salo 6

Trulli 6


Late Model Pro Stock


Matt Alix 872Vern Bliss 850Rick Wylie 798Mark Bliss 706Mike Fiebelkorn 690Joe Brainard 686Sam

Fullone 670Troy Williams 644Eric Sanders 640Dan Domanowski 624

Pro Modifieds


Neil Hopkins 950Tom Krawczyk 930Troy Williams 832Neal Dietz 822Allen Sterling 762

Pro Trucks


Paul Faleski 892Nick Crassi Jr. 884Bob Manko 854John Matuszak 850James Skora 764




Billy Putney 758Sege Fidanza 708Tim Mangus 686Don Staubitz 619Karl Hehr 602Tom McGrath

575Todd Burley 566Rick Kluth 541Jeff Ulrich 540Kirk Rutherford 522

Late Models


John Julicher 712Tom Macleod 672Tim Windnagle 633Brett Scherrer 561Randy Frantz 540Dave

Schultz 540



Vince Capelli 809Joe Torrisi 776Eric Doktor 762Jerry Gradl 660Ken Banker 618


Super Pro

Staschak-Bigham 85Antonicelli-Vitez 69Muro-Passero 68Ron Capello 66Ralph Galluzzi 65Sharon

Hughes 63Ron Spank 62Mike Owczarczak 61Christian-Lilenthal 61Thurnherr I-II 61




Danny Johnson 751Vic Coffey 691Pete Bicknell 650Rick Richner 619Todd Burley 603Scott Wood

599Brian Stevens 578Dan Miller 568Tim Murdock 559Billy Krull 496



Chad Brachmann 896Stewart Friesen 838Don Martin 826Kevin Wills 692Scott George 686

Pro Stocks


Pete Stefanski 902Mark Schulz 855Steve Lewis 847Dan Shoop 782Joe Stefanski 781

There are no comments - be the first to comment