Share this article

print logo


The Officer of the Year Award, given annually to an Amherst police officer, went to three officers during the Amherst Police Club's recent awards dinner, the club's president, Officer Edward Guzdek Jr., announced Sunday.

Officers Charles Cohen, Thomas Grillo and James McNamara shared the 1999 award for an Aug. 11 traffic stop that resulted in the arrest of three New York City men.

Crack cocaine was confiscated, and the men were charged with drug, vehicle and traffic, and criminal-impersonation counts.

Runner-up for the award was Officer Steven Hehr for his role in the arrest of a suspect in a road-rage incident that traumatized a young woman and her children.

Officer Edward Monan received the club's annual William F. Muck II Award as outstanding officer of the year for entering a smoke-filled apartment building Jan. 17 and helping residents before firefighters arrived on the scene.

Cohen, Grillo and McNamara were given runner-up Muck awards for their crack cocaine arrests.

Officer Kenneth Klein also received a runner-up Muck Award for his response to an Aug. 18 call from a Sheridan Drive auto dealership -- where he delivered a baby girl and cleared the infant's airway before paramedics arrived.

There are no comments - be the first to comment