Share this article

print logo


Joe Zera netted 30 points Thursday as Canisius won its second tournament title this week, defeating host Lackawanna, 73-48, in the finals of the Jeffrey Taggart Tournament. Mike Fitzgerald added 11 points and Bill Bevilacqua 10 for the Crusaders. Terrence Anderson led the losing Steelers with 20. The Crusaders won the Nichols Tournament on Tuesday.

Springville outscored Emerson, 24-9, in the fourth quarter to take third place, 66-55. Sean O'Dell led the Griffins with 34 points.

Akron Tournament: MVP Mike Dean scored 21 points and Craig Rehwaldt had 10 blocked shots and 10 rebounds as host Akron beat Alden, 58-43, for the title. Troy Goergen led Alden with 12 points.

Mike MacEvoy gave Barker the lead for good, canning a three-pointer with a minute left in overtime as the Raiders beat Pembroke, 52-50, in the consolation. Jeff Shorr had 14 points and Justin Swogier 10 for Barker.

Cassadaga Valley: MVP Kyle Bestine scored all 16 of his points in the second half as Westfield defended its title beating Gowanda, 54-51. Mike Lay (14) and Levi Twoguns (12) led the Panthers.

Greg Eckwahl's turnaround jumper with less than 20 seconds left helped Maple Grove beat Cassadaga Valley, 57-55 in the consolation. Randall Secky had 18 points for the victorious Red Dragons. Greg Hopkins had 21 points and 12 rebounds for the Cougars.

Fredonia Boosters Tournament: MVP Reed Passafaro had 24 points, including 10 in the third quarter, as Fredonia defended its title by beating Williamsville South, 74-60.T.J. Cottrell led the Billies with 22 points.

Karl Rainey had 31 points and Edmund Rainey added 24 to lead Riverside over Lew-Port, 100-78, in the third-place game.

Hamburg Sun Tournament: MVP Brian Ferris scored 28 points in the final to lead once-beaten St. Francis over Hamburg, 87-53. It was the fourth title in five years for the Red Raiders.

Holland Tournament: East Aurora's Dave Mallon earned MVP honors as the undefeated Blue Devils captured the championship, 57-42, over the host Dutchmen.

Webster Tournament: Missed layups and free throws allowed Webster to rally past Orchard Park, 68-66 in overtime in the consolation. The Quakers led, 41-22, at the half.. Jim Dominkewicz led OP with 24 points.

Girls basketball

Hamburg Sun Tournament: Lake Shore won the title for fifth time in the last six years coming back to beat Frontier, 60-54, at Hilbert College. Lake Shore's Rachel Galenda finished with 18 points, despite shooting just 4 of 15 from the line. Tournament MVP Andrea Smith of Frontier had 20 points.

Lady Quaker Tournament: Unbeaten Clarence (8-0) beat host Orchard Park for the title, 56-47. Katie MacFarlane, who had 64 points and 32 rebounds in two tourney games, led the victory with 28 points.

Molly Dempsey erupted for 28 points and 10 rebounds as Amherst edged Medina, 49-48, in the consolation.

Livonia Tournament: Sophomore phenom Caitlin Howe scored 28 points and went over 1,000 for her career in leading Fairport over Williamsville East, 64-48, in the third-place game. Lindsay Brent (15) and Adrienne Roseti 13 stood out for the Flames.

Matt Colpoys Tourney: Kenmore East made it three tournament wins in a row beating rival Kenmore West, 51-32. Maria Atti had 17 points and nine rebounds for East (7-1). Jamie Gerace led the Blue Devils with 14.

Starpoint Tournament: Nardin jumped out to a 14-3 lead after the first quarter and beat Maryvale, 45-22, for its third title in a row. MVP Jackie D'Orazio led the Gators with 15 points while Ashley Williams added 13.

Dana Montazzoli had 17 points and eight rebounds to lead Starpoint over North Tonawanda, 57-34. Carolyn Symes led the Lady Jacks with 10. NT never recovered from scoring just five points in the second quarter.

Non-league: Jen DePasquale had 11 points and 16 rebounds to lead Dunkirk over St. Mary's of Lancaster, 55-43. Amanda Waite (11), Erin Bogardus (10) and Jen Manzella (10) were also in double figures for Dunkirk. Mary Beth Caruso led the Lancers with 14 points.

There are no comments - be the first to comment