Share this article

print logo


Alderwoman Catherine G. Schwandt will be sworn in as North Tonawanda Common Council president at noon Saturday, New Year's Day.

Mary C. Kabasakalian will be sworn in as mayor.

Schwandt is a 1st Ward Democrat beginning her third two-year term in office. She is the only member of the 1999 Common Council to be re-elected.

Kabasakalian is a first-term Republican.

New Council members taking their oaths of office are: Michael P. Carney, 2nd Ward; P. Russell Rizzo, 3rd Ward; Pamela A. Hogan, 4th Ward and Daniel R. Rey, 5th Ward.

Carney and Rey are Republicans; Rizzo and Hogan, Democrats. Thus the new Council shifts to 3-2 Democratic.

Also to be sworn in are Republican City Attorney Henry F. Wojtaszek to a second term, and re-elected Niagara County legislators from North Tonawanda, John S. Tylec, and Robert L. Seger, 9th and 10th District Democrats, respectively, and Malcolm A. Needler, 11th District Republican.

Re-elected City Treasurer Leslie J. Stolzenfels, a Republican, was sworn in earlier because she will be out of town New Year's Day.

The oath-of-office ceremonies will be held in City Hall.

The master of ceremonies will be State Sen. George D. Maziarz. The Council will hold its reorganization meeting at 7 p.m. Monday and its first regular session Tuesday. City Hall offices will close at noon Thursday and reopen at 9 a.m. Monday.

There are no comments - be the first to comment