Share this article

print logo


The Hoosier Classic basketball tournament has been good to Indiana, and coach Bob Knight's team wasn't about to let Holy Cross change that trend.

Led by Kirk Haston's 16 points, No. 12 Indiana beat Holy Cross, 79-44, Tuesday night in the championship game of the 18th Hoosier Classic, pushing the Hoosiers' record in the tournament to 36-0.

"Over the entire course of the game I was pleased with what we did defensively," Knight said. "We had pretty decent play all the way down through our roster."

Lynn Washington scored 12 points and Michael Lewis and Jeffrey Newton added 10 apiece for Indiana. Josh Sankes (St. Joe's) led Holy Cross (4-6) with 17 points.

"Indiana played very well tonight," Holy Cross coach Ralph Willard said. "It takes a good basketball team to play the way they did tonight. Indiana extended the defense, pressured us and really took us out of everything we wanted to do."

Indiana never trailed and led by as many as 34 points. Holy Cross came within one point of tying the tournament low for points in a game against Indiana, set by Ball State in 1983 and matched by Mississippi State in 1985.

"We had a good chance in these two games (Canisius was the first opponent) to look at what we've got and where we have to go," Knight said.

Pepperdine waved off

WESTWOOD, Calif. -- It wouldn't have meant the first victory ever for Pepperdine at Pauley Pavilion. It would have meant a chance at one, though.

Craig Lewis' putback at the buzzer was ruled too late, allowing No. 23 UCLA to leave its home court with a 68-66 victory over the Waves on Tuesday night.

Replays show that the rebound of a missed three-pointer by David Lalazarian left Lewis' hand in time.

"The first thing I looked at was the red light behind the basket," Pepperdine coach Jan van Breda Kolff said. "He shot the ball, it went through the net and the red light went off. I figured we were going into overtime, but I guess the officials saw it differently."

Referee Andy Rios signaled '2,' but referee Ruben Ramos ruled the shot was too late.

A furious Lalazarian, shouting all the way, chased Ramos off the court before being restrained.

"I thought it was good. It felt good," Lewis said. "I never looked at the clock, I never had time to."

UCLA coach Steve Lavin was as diplomatic as possible.

"During the game, it's hard to be objective, but when clear heads prevail, I will probably see it was before the buzzer," Lavin said.

Lost in the excitement over the final tip-in was that Jerome Moiso scored the final five points of the game for the Bruins (7-2).

Moiso, who finished with 15 points, tied the game at 65 with 1:28 left. After Lewis hit one of two free throws, Moiso banked in the go-ahead basket and added a free throw with 23 seconds left.

Around the rim

Gilbert Arenas had 17 points and fellow freshman guard Jason Gardner scored all 12 of his in the second half as No. 5 Arizona (10-2) improved its record in the Bank One Fiesta Bowl Classic to 29-0 with a 66-51 victory over North Carolina-Wilmington. Arizona, which outscored the Seahawks, 26-3, from the foul line, will play Delaware, a 76-66 winner over Alabama, for the title on Thursday. Oleg Kojenets had a season-high 14 points for the Seahawks (6-3).

Alex Scales scored 26 points, including the game-winner, an off-balance 15-footer with 4.7 seconds left that gave Oregon a 67-66 victory over No. 19 Wake Forest (8-2) in the Rainbow Classic in Hawaii. The Ducks (7-1) will play Gonzaga, which beat Ohio University, 83-55, in tonight's semifinals.

Mateen Cleaves sat out No. 8 Michigan State's 96-63 victory over visiting Mississippi Valley State (1-9). Spartans coach Tom Izzo hoped Cleaves would return from his broken foot for this game, but his star player probably won't be back until Jan. 5 against Penn State. The Spartans are 9-3.

Norman Richardson scored 20 points to lead Hofstra to a 75-50 victory over Fordham, making it just the fourth school to repeat as champion of the ECAC Holiday Festival. The Flying Dutchmen (5-4) used an outstanding defensive effort to join Duquesne (1953-54), Providence (1965-66) and St. John's (1984-87) as repeat winners of the tournament played every year at Madison Square Garden since 1952. Richardson becomes the fourth player to win the MVP award twice, joining Tom Gola of La Salle (1952, 1954), Jimmy Walker of Providence (1965-66) and Chris Mullin of St. John's (1981, 1984).

There are no comments - be the first to comment