Share this article

print logo


Several Newstead Fire Company members were honored for their contributions to the community at the company's 52nd annual installation dinner.

The event, sponsored by the Newstead Volunteer Fire Company and Ladies Auxiliary, recognized accomplishments and individuals for assistance during the year.

Russell Rosenberg, a 33-year member of the company, was named Fireman of the Year. The President's Award was presented to Paul A. Vohwinkel Sr., and Thomas James was presented the First Aider of the Year award. Past President Doug Jones also was recognized.

Richard J. Rebmann was elected to another term as chief, and John L. Wideman, who was honored for 25 years of service, is first assistant chief.

Other officers elected to one-year terms are: second assistant chief, David A. Berghorn; third assistant chief, Mark A. Maier; fourth assistant chief, Scott G. Zitzka; fire captains, Jeffrey Beers and Chris Bower.

Other administrative officers are: president, Dennis Schweigert Sr.; vice president, Thomas Lederhouse; recording secretary, Paul H. Vohwinkel; financial secretary, Michael Soika; treasurer, Robyn Ciernak; and sergeant-at-arms, Dennis Schweigert Jr.

Directors are Russell Rosenberg, Thomas James Jr., John Redenbach, Ronald Stanzek, Brian Dadswell and Fred Gregg.

The fire company also received a new stretcher, which was a gift from the Ladies Auxiliary.

Auxiliary officers are: president, Mary Wideman; vice president, Cindy Rebmann; secretary, Bonnie Lee James; and treasurer, SueAnn Blasko.

There are no comments - be the first to comment