Share this article

print logo


An honorable mention in the print category was received by Anne Neville, former Buffalo News Niagara County Sunday section editor, at the 1999 New York State Association for Retarded Children Media Awards in recognition of her article "Open Doors, Minds Allowed to Succeed in Workforce." The article appeared in The Buffalo News on Oct. 11, 1998.

Opportunities Unlimited of Niagara, the Niagara County chapter of the state association, nominated her story "because of the strong message it conveyed" the message and purpose of the association and noted how "the story highlighted the abilities of people with disabilities and the skills and talents they offer to community employers."

The Main Street Business and Professional Association recently honored the following community members and businesses at their annual awards dinner: Irene Elia was named Business Person of the Year; Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center was named Business of the Year; Sister Mary Francis Bassick was given the George Kurtzman Award; Frank T. Brezezinski and Marjorie Gillies received the President's Distinguished Award; and Beautification Awards were given to Betsy Diachun, Sister Mary Agnes O'Neil, Evelyn Perkins, Lena Thomas and Joyce Tramel.

Friends of the Wilson Free Library have elected officers for next year. They are president, Rena Rohring; vice president, Nina Gagnon; secretary, Betty Haag; and treasurer Jamie Moxham. Others in new positions are Marie Kurtz, membership; Michelle Blair, grant writing; Norma Ward, publicity; Kay Ness, corresponding secretary; Marge Clark, communications and newsletter; and Anne Cornell and Millie Neville, trustees. Also serving on the board will be Leanne Haley-Brown and Jill Douglas.

The Mount St. Mary's board of associates has installed the following officers for next year: president, Gerald W. Tucker; vice president, Linus L. Ormsby; secretary, David W. Bevacqua; and treasurer, Donald L. Thurman. Carmen A. Granto is the immediate past president.

There are no comments - be the first to comment