Share this article

print logo


Cheryl A. Jonas, a research nurse at Roswell Park Cancer Institute, is this year's recipient of the Oncology Nursing Society/Schering Oncology/Biotech Excellence in Biotherapy Nursing Award.

Jonas, who received a diploma from Millard Fillmore Hospital School of Nursing in 1982, is active in the Oncology Nursing Society's Western New York Chapter.

The Oncology Nursing Society is a national organization of more than 27,000 oncology nurses and other health-care professionals dedicated to excellence in patient care, teaching, research, administration and education in oncology.

Dr. Sebastian G. Ciancio of Eggertsville, professor and chairman of the periodontology department at the University at Buffalo, will receive the President's Award from the American Academy of Periodontology at the association's annual meeting being held Monday in San Antonio, Texas.

The award, one of the highest honors given by the 7,200-member academy, honors Ciancio for distinguished service to the organization.

Ciancio, a native of Jamestown, is past president of the academy and current president of the American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. In addition to his position at UB, he is chairman of the U.S. Pharmacopoeia Dental Division as well as an editor of Biological Therapies in Dentistry and Periodontal Insights. He is a consultant for the Journal of Periodontology.

Patrick Kavanaugh, executive director of the Christian Performing Artists' Fellowship at Houghton College, will receive an honorary doctor of fine arts degree during Houghton's annual Founders Day Convocation, to be held at 10 a.m. Friday in Wesley Chapel on the college campus in Houghton.

Kavanaugh, also artistic director of the MasterWorks Festival at the college, will be featured speaker at the convocation. He will discuss "Missionary With New Tools: Faith, Art and Beauty." He holds a doctorate in musical arts from the University of Maryland.

Founders Day Convocation will be held during the college's 1999 Homecoming Weekend, "Echoes of the Century."

Carl J. Montante, president and chief executive officer of Uniland Development Co., has been elected to a third consecutive term as chairman of the Canisius College board of trustees.

Other officers of the board for 1999-2000 include Gerald C. Saxe, president of the Matthew, Bartlett and Dedecker insurance agency, vice chairman; the Rev. James P. Higgins, rector of the Jesuit community at the college, secretary; and Laurence W. Franz, Canisius' vice president for business and finance, treasurer.

Newly elected trustees are:

Leo A. Bradley, a retired partner with Deloitte & Touche; Frank L. Eberl, co-owner of Eberl Iron Works; Craig J. Costanzo, consultant to NCO Financial Systems; Thomas P. Hartnett, president and chief executive officer of HealthNow N.Y., the holding company for Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Western New York.

Also, James F. Lyons, president and chief executive officer of GenRad of Westford, Mass., and Virginia B. Nanula who has served as co-chairwoman of the annual Canisius College Regents Ball. Each of the new trustees will serve a term of three years.

The Rev. Vincent M. Cooke, college president, will be an ex-officio member of the board.

Mary Jo Stetz, a member of the St. Bonaventure University staff since 1983, has been promoted to senior associate director of financial aid.

She won the New York State Financial Aid Administrators Association Region I Service Award in 1997. She received a bachelor's degree in mathematics from Geneseo State College and a master's degree in business administration from St. Bonaventure.

Michelle Davis, a sophomore at Pembroke High School in Corfu, has received a $1,000 scholarship for her role in a project encouraging middle school students to avoid the use of tobacco. Michelle was one of about 30 Key Club members from nine states to be awarded a scholarship by the Kiwanis Club.

Barbara J. Bono of Buffalo, associate professor of English, has been named chairwoman of the English department in the College of Arts and Sciences at the University at Buffalo.

An established scholar of Shakespeare, Elizabethan-Jacobean drama and English Renaissance literature, Bono joined the UB faculty in 1984 after a year as a Mellon fellow at Harvard University.

Her awards and honors include a State university of New York Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching in 1989 and a Milton Plesur Award for Excellence in Teaching in 1993 from the UB Student Association.

Bono published "Literary Transvaluation: From Virginia Epic to Shakespearean Tragicomedy" in 1984 and has written several scholarly articles for literary journals.

She graduated from Fordham University and has a doctorate in English literature from Brown University.

Zoe Walker, a Broadway actress and arts educator, has been named director of the Rigas Family Theater at St Bonaventure University's Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts.

She also will be in charge of the center's performing arts programs, beginning Oct. 8.

Walker, who has appeared in Broadway and off-Broadway productions and with a number of regional theaters, has a bachelor's degree in theater from the City College of New York and a master of education degree from the City University of New York.

She is a member of the Actor's Equity Association, Screen Actors' Guild and the United Federation of Teachers.

Walker has served as curriculum developer and workshop leader for the Creative Arts Team of New York University; has led workshops for teachers and professionals and, most recently, worked in New York City schools, focusing on the integration of drama, writing and reading in kindergarten through fifth grade.

There are no comments - be the first to comment