When First Baptist Church of Hamburg was founded in 1810 in a barn on Newton Road, it was called Second Baptist Church, because the First was in Aurora. Church records tell of the first pastor, the Rev. Clark Carr, chopping through 2 feet of ice on Eighteen Mile Creek to immerse 20 candidates for baptism.
Planning and building the original church at 120 Main St. in the Village of Hamburg took two years. It was dedicated in 1836. The pastor at that time was paid "a salary of $400 and firewood." In 1855 a bell was hung in the steeple, calling not only the congregation to worship but also alerting the village to fires.
A parsonage was erected in 1875, and the church was remodeled twice in the late 1800s. A general renovation in 1921 included adding a modern heating plant. At that time the hand-pumped organ was replaced with a pipe organ. Property on Center Street were acquired for Sunday school classrooms.
The white frame structure still houses the congregation, and a three-story brick education building has been added.