Share this article

print logo


Two highway superintendents, in Conewango and Freedom, lost their bids for the Republican Party nomination while the incumbent supervisor in Carrollton lost the Democratic nomination Tuesday in party primaries.

Preliminary unofficial results show:

State committeeman

Andrew S. Waterman of Olean won the 149th Assembly District State Committeeman race with 530 votes to 443 for D. David Vitale of Allegany. The race developed when James Hughey of Olean stepped down as state committeeman for the GOP.

Waterman is an attorney in Olean, where he served as alderman and is now on the city Planning Board.

Republican primaries:


Supervisor Alfred E. Hill polled 98 votes and turned back a challenge from Niles W. Hadley, 80 votes. Warren L. Slater received 94 votes to defeat Highway Superintendent Edward D. Kurek, 50, and Roger A. Reynolds, 30, for the nomination.


Town Clerk Stacey R. Lund was defeated by Deborah A. Welch, 78 to 68. Susan M. Drier polled 19 votes.

Nominations for two councilmen posts went to incumbent DeVere E. Bliss, 97 votes, and . Gill D. Fanton, 88. Edward Franklin received 77 votes. Highway Superintendent Allen L. Bishoff lost to James M. Wilcox, 73 to 71.


Two council candidates nominated were Joe N. Ames, 81, and Donald R. Farwell, 69, over John J. Michael, 26.


Incumbent Robert W. Krepps, 98, and Marian J. Anderson, 95, won nominations for two Council seats over Roy E. Spalti, 59.


Highway Superintendent Eugene M. Milks turned back a challenge from Arthur R. Bills, 78 to 40.

New Albion

Highway Superintendent Gerald R. Cobo was defeated by James J. Gunsolus, 61 to 53.


Supervisor Donald W. French lost the nomination to Richard P. Fuller Sr., 68 to 111. Two winning candidates for council were John C. Stumpf, 134, and Stephen J. Macholz, 96, defeating incumbent Jack M. Phetteplace, 91.

Democrats will go to the polls in four towns for primary election choices:


Mary M. Peck defeated Sharon M. Carls, 182-121, for the nomination for town clerk.


Joseph Barrile polled 118 to defeat Supervisor Samuel B. Letcher, who received 40 votes. Highway Superintendent John E. Hogan received 77 votes to 54 for Joseph G. Griswold and 21 for Sigmund J. Degitz Sr.


Two council candidates nominated were Raymond J. Isaman Jr., 101, and Daniel J. Zawatski, 85, defeating Randy Taylor, 39, and incumbents John W. Forness, 68, and Daniel J. Scanlon, 67. For the nomination of highway superintendent, Ronald S. Tuttle defeated Michael E. Hale Sr., 93 to 75.


Gail L. Watkins won the nomination for town clerk over Jeanne M. Brown, 77 to 32.

Legislative District 6

Preliminary results in the Conservative primary show Mark S. Williams with 15 votes, Thomas Mosher with 8, Legislator Larry Mack, D-Humphrey, with 13, and Jan Jadlowski with 10. The two with the highest totals will be nominated.

In Independence party voting, it was Williams, 7; Moser, 5; Mack, 5; and Ms. Jadlowski, 5.

There are no comments - be the first to comment