Share this article

print logo


Cattaraugus County Republicans in 21 towns and the cities of Olean and Salamanca are eligible to go to the polls Tuesday to elect a state committeeman for the 149th Assembly District.

The race developed when James Hughey of Olean stepped down as state committeeman for the GOP. The term of the female representative, Linda Milks, does not expire at this time. Vying for the post are D. David Vitale of Allegany and Andrew S. Waterman of Olean.

Vitale is a former mayor of the Village of Allegany who served on the Village Board many years and managed campaigns for Sen. Patricia K. McGee, R-Franklinville. Waterman is an attorney in Olean, where he served as alderman and is now on the city Planning Board.

Other Republican primary races are also on the ballot in several towns:

In Conewango, Supervisor Alfred E. Hill is challenged by Niles W. Hadley. Highway Superintendent Edward D. Jurek faces Warren L. Slater and Roger A. Reynolds for the nomination.

Freedom Town Clerk Stacey R. Lund is challenged by Susan M. Drier and Deborah A. Welch. Candidates for two councilmen posts are Edward Franklin, Gill D. Fanton and incumbent DeVere E. Bliss. Highway Superintendent Allen L. Bishoff is challenged by James M. Wilcox.

In Ischua, two council candidates will be chosen among John J. Michael and incumbents Joe N. Ames and Donald R. Farwell.

Machias voters must chose two council candidates among Marian J. Anderson and incumbents Robert W. Krepps and Roy E. Spalti.

Napoli Highway Superintendent Eugene M. Milks is challenged by Arthur R. Bills.

New Albion Highway Superintendent Gerald R. Cobo is challenged by James J. Gunsolus.

Yorkshire Supervisor Donald W. French faces a challenge from Richard P. Fuller Sr. Two council candidates will be chosen from among Stephen J. Macholz, John C. Stumpf and incumbent Jack M. Phetteplace.

Democrats will go to the polls in four towns for primary election choices:

In Allegany, Mary M. Peek and Sharon M. Carls are seeking the nomination for town clerk.

Carrollton Supervisor Samuel B. Letcher is challenged by Joseph Barrile. Highway Superintendent John E. Hogan is challenged by Joseph G. Griswold and Sigmund J. Degitz Sr.

In Hinsdale, two council candidates will be elected among Raymond J. Isaman Jr., Daniel J. Zawatski, Randy Taylor and incumbents John W. Forness and Daniel J. Scanlon. Vying for the nomination of highway superintendent are Ronald S. Tuttle and Michael E. Hale Sr.

In Machias, the nomination for town clerk is sought by Gail L. Watkins and Jeanne M. Brown.

In Legislative District 6 -- the towns of Hinsdale, Humphrey, Ischua, Lyndon and Portville -- the names of Mark S. Williams and Thomas Mosher will be on the ballot for the Conservative and Independence parties.

Also voters will have an opportunity in that race to write in the name of a candidate for the Conservative, Independence and Right to Life parties.

Voters can also write in the name of a candidate for councilman in Hinsdale for the Independence Party.

There are no comments - be the first to comment