Share this article

print logo


At stake -- National Football League Championship for the Vince Lombardi Trophy.

Participants -- Denver Broncos (AFC) and Atlanta Falcons (NFC). This will be the sixth appearance for Denver (1-4) and the first for Atlanta.

Site -- Pro Player Stadium, Miami. This is the eighth game to be played in Miami and the the third in this stadium.

Seating capacity -- 74,000.

Kickoff -- 6:25 p.m. Eastern Standard Time.

Network coverage -- By FOX-TV (Ch. 29) to approximately 200 stations and throughout the United States plus Bermuda, and Guam.

By CBS Radio (930 AM) to 446 stations within the United States. The Armed Forces Televison will also provide broadcast throughout the world.

The game will be distributed internationally by the NFL and ESPN International to more than 150 countries.

TV game announcers -- Pat Summerall play-by-play; John Madden analyst.

Radio game announcers -- Howard David play-by-play; Matt Millen analyst.

Players share -- Winners: $53,000 per man. Losers: $32,500 per man.

Player uniforms -- Atlanta will be the home team and use the South bench and will have the choice of wearing its colored or white jersey. Denver will be the visiting team and will use the North bench.

Sudden death -- If the game is tied at regulation time 60 minutes, it will continue in sudden death overtime. The team scoring first (by safety, field goal, or touchdown) will win. At the end of regulation playing time, the referee will immediately toss a coin at the center of the field, in accordance with rules pertaining to the usual pre-game toss. The captain of NFC team (the visiting team) will call the toss. Following a three-minute intermission after the end of the regular game, play will continue by 15-minute periods with a two-minute intermission between each such overtime period with no halftime intermission. The teams will change goals between each period, there will be a two-minute warning at the end of each period.

Official time -- The scoreboard clock will be official.

Officials -- There will be seven officials and two alternates appointed by the Commissioner's office.

Trophy -- The winning team receives permanent possession of the Vince Lombardi Trophy, a sterling silver trophy created by Tiffany & Company and presented annually to the winner of the Super Bowl. The trophy was named after the late coach Vince Lombardi of the two-time Super Bowl champion Green Bay Packers prior to the 1971 Super Bowl. The trophy is a regulation silver football mounted in a kicking position on a pyramid-like stand of three concave sides. The trophy stands 20 3/4 inches tall, weighs 6.7 pounds. The words "Vince Lombardi" and "Super Bowl XXXI" are engraved on the base along with the NFL emblem.

Attendance -- To date, 2,553,491 have attended Super Bowl games. The largest crowd was 103,985 the 14th Super Bowl at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif.

Compiled by the Associated Press